Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Timeiline for 2020
2020 U.S. presidential election timeline
This shows the many event leading up to the 2020 Presidential Election. The United States presidential election of 2020, scheduled for Tuesday, November 3, 2020, will be the 59th quadrennial U.S. presidential election. Voters will select presidential electors who in turn will elect a president and vice president through the Electoral College.
Comparing the 2020 Presidential Candidates
ProCon.org (an affiliate of Encyclopedia Britannica)
Provides a side by side comparison for over 60 public policy topics for all 4 of the major presidential candidates for the 2020 election. Includes links to see more details about each candidate's position for all 60+ platform topics.
U.S. Presidential Elections in 2020
270 to Win - Presidential Election Polls
Primary focus of this website is polling information for the presidential race, leading up to capturing a majority of delegates to the Electoral College (which is 270 electoral votes). This site is very much geared to maps & pie charts, and also provides coverage of US Senate, US House, and local races for State legislators.
Daily updates of presidential polls (produced by Real Clear Politics)
Daily updates from nationwide, state & regional polls about the 2020 elections. In addition to covering the U.S. presidential race, also includes coverage of presidential approval ratings, and elections polls for selected races for the U.S. Senate.
Election Forecasts from Nate Silver's FiveThirtyEight.com
In addition to providing frequent updates to Nate Silver's statistical analysis at a nationwide scale, this also provides access to 538's analysis for the presidential race separately in all 50 states.
Direct links to top independent survey organizations that produce public opinion polls on candidates who are running for public office.
American National Election Studies
This academic research group dates back to 1948 on the University of Michigan campus. ANSE serves the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists by producing its own surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation. ANES's data enable researchers to better understand the theoretical and empirical foundations of national election outcomes.
Pew Research Center for the People and the Press
The Pew Research Center for the People & the Press is an independent, non-partisan public opinion research organization that studies attitudes toward politics, the press and public policy issues. In this role it serves as a valuable information resource for political leaders, journalists, scholars and citizens.
Political Polls (produced by Gallup Inc.)
Gallup, Inc., is currently a research based performance management consulting company, founded by George Gallup. Originally it gained early notoriety for the accuracy of its nationwide political polls in the 1936 race for U.S. President between Franklin Roosevelt and Alf Landon. Besides presidential polls, there are hundreds of polls conducted by the Gallop group each year, only a portion of those results are publicly distributed for free through 3rd party news sources, or Gallup's own website.
Roper i-Poll Datasets (WU login is required)
This database is produced by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research which is one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion. The data held by the Roper Center ranges from the 1930s, when survey research was in its infancy, to the present. Most of the data are from the United States, but over 50 nations are represented.
Political Party Web Sites for 2020
Gary Klein (librarian for PPLE)
Subjects: Atkinson (AGSM)
, Civic Communication & Media
, Politics, Policy, Law and Ethics
, Rhetoric & Media Studies