Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Names of "Coronavirus"
Before this disease was officially named, it had been referred to by several names.
Scholarly sources, use these terms:
- SARS-CoV-2 (the virus that causes the Novel Coronavirus disease)
- 2019-N-COV (scientific abbreviation for 2019 Novel Coronavirus)
- Pandemic or Epidemic
News sources, use these terms:
- Novel coronavirus
- Wuhan coronavirus
- Pandemic or Epidemic
Writing about Coronavirus
From News to the Research Paper
PCC librarians wrote this blog post to help students think about how to use the Coronavirus as a paper topic. The post talks about some potential topic ideas to consider.
Library Databases to Find Coronavirus News
Trusted News Sources
There is a big opportunity for misinformation to spread both intentionally and unintentionally whenever there is a rapidly developing news story, especially one that might be causing some fear and panic (see "Infodemic" top the right). While it's always important to think about the quality of your sources, it becomes especially important in these situations.
Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19), Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
The latest information from the CDC. Provides introductory information to COVID-19 (How it spreads, symptoms, etc), situation updates on cases in the US and abroad, information for travel, etc.
Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) Outbreak, World Health Organization (WHO)
The WHO's information and guidance page on COVID-19. Includes news updates, questions and answers, introductory information, and "Myth-busters" about the virus.
Novel Coronavirus Updates (COVID-19), Oregon Health Authority
The Oregon Health Authority's update page on the Coronavirus situation in Oregon. Includes the counte of persons under monitoring and investigation, FAQs, fact sheets, and other resources. Updated weekly on Tuesdays starting March 3.
Coronavirus Coverage, New York Times
Award-winning journalism; center-left editorial perspective.
Coronavirus Coverage, The Guardian
News from an award-winning British newspaper with significant U.S. coverage.
Coronavirus Coverage, BBC
News from the respected British Broadcasting Company.
Nature is a journal that covers primary research and news events about the greatest challenges that we face as a society today such as COVID-19.
Library Journal's 2019 Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) Resources
Links to a wide range of information re: the Novel Coronavirus. Includes links to everything from background information, to articles specifically about the coronavirus and business, China, misinformation, scientific journal articles, legal issues, and maps.