Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Names of "Coronavirus"
Before this disease was officially named, it had been referred to by several names.
Scholarly sources, use these terms:
- SARS-CoV-2 (the virus that causes the Novel Coronavirus disease)
- 2019-N-COV (scientific abbreviation for 2019 Novel Coronavirus)
- Pandemic or Epidemic
News sources, use these terms:
- Novel coronavirus
- Wuhan coronavirus
- Pandemic or Epidemic
Writing about Coronavirus
From News to the Research Paper
PCC librarians wrote this blog post to help students think about how to use the Coronavirus as a paper topic. The post talks about some potential topic ideas to consider.
Scientific literature and developing research
Several scientific publishers and journals have put together collections of articles that are related to the coronavirus (below). Because the story has so recently emerged, the main information sources will be news stories and documents released by public health organizations and governments. Research suggestions:
- Compare literature about other disease outbreaks to COVID-19.
- Search for articles about coronaviruses, or how the Chinese government handles public health information.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Be sure your Google Scholar preferences include Willamette University as your library (under library links) to access Willamette-licensed content. For more customization & info visit our Google Scholar page.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Academic Search Complete provides full text for more than 8,500 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. It offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 12,500 journals. Over 7,300 of the full text journals are peer reviewed.
PubMed (Medline) is THE PLACE TO START for life science info, especially related to medical and health related issues. Some full-text articles are available, but it is primarily an index. It also abbreviates medical journal titles according to CSE citation format.
(Ebook) Pandemic Planning by
Publication Date: 2012-03-14
Preparedness requires cooperation and collaboration on multiple levels. Individuals should protect themselves and their families; employers should enact policy changes to avoid the spread of illness in the workplace and in schools; healthcare providers and governmental bodies should exercise to test themselves and their communities. True preparedness requires multilevel commitments across geographic and organizational borders.
(Ebook) Pandemic Influenza Preparedness and Response: a WHO guidance document by
Publication Date: 2009-05-29
Influenza pandemics are unpredictable but recurring events that can have severe consequences on societies worldwide. This revised WHO guidance publication on pandemic influenza preparedness and response has been developed to guide WHO Member States and others responsible for public health and pandemic influenza preparedness activities at the national level.
(Ebook) National strategy for pandemic influenza by
Publication Date: 2005
The Strategy will provide a framework for future U.S. Government planning efforts that is consistent with The National Security Strategy and the National Strategy for Homeland Security. The current pandemic threat stems from an unprecedented outbreak of avian influenza in Asia and Europe, caused by the H5N1 strain of the Influenza A virus. This strategy recognizes that preparing for and responding to a pandemic cannot be viewed as a purely federal responsibility, and that the nation must have a system of plans at all levels of government and in all sectors outside of government that can be integrated to address the pandemic threat.
(Ebook) Plagues and Poxes: the impact of human history on epidemic disease by
Publication Date: 2004-06-30
Covers a wide range of historical epidemic disease outbreaks: malaria, yellow fever, syphilis, smallpox, cholera, influenza, beriberi, scurvy, cancer, rickets, gout, anthrax, botulism, and SARS.