IDS 101: Longevity, Health, & Generation Z: Your Librarian

Find the Hatfield Library on Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, and our blog to find library news, events, and more! Here is the latest...

These additional guides will help you find and locate other types of information.

Book Reviews                                                            Newspaper Articles
Books                                                                         Speeches
Dictionaries                                                                Statistics
Government Info                                                        Videos/DVDs
Journal Articles

Virtual Tour of the Mark O. Hatfield Library

This video provides a brief tour of the highlighted collections and services of the Mark O. Hatfield Library and Archives and Special Collections.

Locating Scholarly Articles

Find out how to search for scholarly articles within EbscoHost's Academic Search Complete database, as well as other useful tips that will help you become a more efficient researcher. Additional info is available on the Popular vs. Scholarly page.

Searching the Catalog

Learn how to use the catalog to search for books, articles, videos, and more through Summit, our regional lending system, and locally from Willamette. Additional info is available on the Library Catalogs page.

Obtaining Materials: Willamette, Summit, ILL (2:36 min) 

Find out how to obtain materials from Willamette University, from regional libraries through the Summit borrowing service, and from libraries across the country through our interlibrary loan services. Additional info is available on the Interlibrary Loan page.

Citation Tools

Learn tools that will make citing resources much easier when using the library catalog, library databases, and Google Scholar.  Also discover, Zotero, a free resource for managing citations/bibliographic data. Additional information is available on the Why Cite Sources page.

Subject librarians are here to help with your research!

You can set up an individual research consultation with a subject librarian for research help. Here are a few other things that we can do for you:

- Show you the best places to begin your research.

- Help you develop effective search strategies.

- Locate the information you need within our library.

- Obtain books, articles, cds, etc. from other libraries.

- Find additional information from citation lists/bibliographies.

- Judge the quality & reliability of information.

- Use information ethically (e.g. plagiarism).

- Cite information correctly (e.g. APA style).

- Demonstrate how to use citation resources.

- Tell the difference between various literature types.

- Determine whether something is peer-reviewed.