Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Oxford Reference Online
This online resource is a collection of 100 well-known and trusted dictionaries and reference books combined into a single cross-searchable interface.
The electronic version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica. An excellent starting point for almost any topic of research, the Britannica offers both concise descriptions, and longer, more comprehensive articles on a wide variety of topics.
The Encyclopedia of Apocalypticism by
Call Number: BL501 .E53 1998
This hefty 3 volume encyclopedia delves into the history of the apocalypse, including the history and influences of the predicted end of the world.
The Earth Abides
Publication Date: 1949
Isherwood Williams, an ecologist in Northern California, is bitten by a snake. He treats his wounds and falls ill. However, when two men find him sick at the cabin, they quickly leave instead of help. Ish eventually drives into the nearest town, there he finds newspapers that tell of a great recent epidemic virus that has struck and killed millions. Like other who live, he searches for survivors in the aftermath in this lonely new world.
This ebook is split into: br>
and Part II
Wild Plants, Mushrooms and Nuts: Functional Food Properties and Applications by
Publication Date: 2016
a compendium of current and novel research on the chemistry, biochemistry, nutritional and pharmaceutical value of traditional food products, namely wild mushrooms, plants and nuts, which are becoming more relevant in diets, and are especially useful for developing novel health foods and in modern natural food therapies.
No Oil in the Lamp: Fuel, Faith and the Energy Crisis by
Publication Date: 2013
Recent natural disasters, global political upheavals, price hikes in the cost of gas, heating oil and electricity, and the eye-watering cost of filling up a car are signposts toward an unexpected, different, energy-constrained future.
Apocalyptic Patterns in Twentieth-Century Fiction by
Publication Date: 2008
This explores the innovative influences of the Book of Revelation and ideas of an end time on fiction of the twentieth century, and probes philosophical, political, and theological issues raised by apocalyptic writers from Walker Percy, C. S. Lewis, and Charles Williams to Doris Lessing, Thomas Pynchon, Don DeLillo.
WU Libraries Catalogs
Find Books, Movies and More
Natural Disasters, Climate Change, & Mass Extinction
Notable Natural Disasters by
Call Number: GB5014 .N373 2007
Looks at the science behind natural disasters, discussing what causes them, where they occur, prevention and preparations, rescue and relief efforts, impact, and historical overview of each kind before going on to describe the one hundred worse disasters in history.
Evolutionary Catastrophes: The Science of Mass Extinction by
Call Number: QE506 .C7513 1999
Throughout the history of life a small number of catastrophic events have caused mass extinction, and changed the path of evolution forever. Two main theories have emerged to account for these dramatic events: asteroid impact, and massive volcanic eruptions, both leading to nuclear-like winter.
Global Catastrophes: a Very Short Introduction by
Call Number: GB5018 .M34 2014
In this Very Short Introduction Bill McGuire explores the potential catastrophes facing our planet. Assessing both the probability of these events happening in the future, and our chances of survival, this new edition brings our understanding of global disasters and risk research up to date, by using recent case studies from around the world.
Call Number: PN1995.9.S26 S9413 2015
By looking at blockbusters that play with general annihilation while also paying close attention to films like Melancholia, Cloverfield, Blade Runner, and Twelve Monkeys, this book suggests that in the apocalyptic genre, film gnaws at its own limit.
Epidemic Disease (Black Death & Yellow Fever)
The Black Death by
Call Number: RC178.A1 Z5 2009
A series of natural disasters in the Orient during the fourteenth century brought about the most devastating period of death and destruction in European history. The epidemic killed one-third of Europe's people over a period of three years, and the resulting social and economic upheaval was on a scale unparalleled in all of recorded history.
An American Plague: the True and Terrifying Story of the Yellow Fever by
Call Number: RA644.Y4 M875 2003
It's 1793, and there's an invisible killer roaming the streets of Philadelphia. The city's residents are fleeing in fear. This killer has a name--yellow fever--but everything else about it is a mystery. Its cause is unknown and there is no cure.
Yellow Fever, Black Goddess: the Coevolution of People and Plagues by
Call Number: RA649 .W55 1996
Humans acknowledge the existence of our planet's primitive coinhabitants only when they do their worst - emerging to strike down whole populations through rampaging epidemics. But in fact, the protozoa, bacteria, and viruses that cause such diseases as yellow fever and cholera - which is symbolized by the black goddess - lead complex lives in their own right, struggling ever further out on their evolutionary limbs.
The Last Man by
Call Number: PR5397.L3 1965
It is the twenty-first century, and England is a republic governed by a ruling elite, one of whom, Adrian, Earl of Windsor, has introduced a Cumbrian boy to the circle. This outsider, Lionel Verney, narrates a tale of complicated, tragic love, and of the gradual extermination of the human race by plague.
The Great Transition by
Call Number: D202 .C33 2016
In the fourteenth century the Old World witnessed a series of profound and abrupt changes in the trajectory of long-established historical trends. Transcontinental networks of exchange fractured and an era of economic contraction and demographic decline dawned from which Latin Christendom would not begin to emerge until its voyages of discovery at the end of the fifteenth century.
Earth-Shattering Events by
Call Number: QE534.3 .R63 2016
Earth-Shattering Events seeks to understand exactly how humans and earthquakes have interacted, not only in the short term but also in the long perspective of history.
The Bet by
Call Number: HC79.E5 S213 2013
The Bet uses a legendary wager between the Stanford biologist Paul Ehrlich and the conservative University of Illinois economist Julian Simon to examine the roots of modern environmentalism and its relationship to broader political conflicts in the nation. In 1980, they made a much-ballyhooed bet about the future prices of five metals that served as a proxy for their arguments about the future.
American Apocalypse by
Call Number: BR1640 .S88 2014
American Apocalypse shows how a group of radical Protestants, anticipating the end of the world, paradoxically transformed it. Historian Matthew Avery Sutton draws on archival research to document the ways an initially obscure network of charismatic preachers and their followers reshaped American religion, at home and abroad, for over a century.
Apocalypse of Pseudo-Methodius by
Call Number: BS646 .P8413 2012
The Apocalypse of Pseudo-Methodius was one of the first works composed in response to the Arab invasions and the establishment of the Muslim empire in the seventh century.
The Day of the Triffids by
Publication Date: 2003
A shower of meteorites blinds most of the Earth's population and covers the world with the seeds of triffids, which are rapidly growing, intelligent, man-eating plants that walk.
Cat's Cradle by
Call Number: PS3572.O5 C4 1963
Cat's Cradle travels from the home turf of Vonnegut's imagination, Ilium, N.Y. to a Caribbean banana republic where an illicit religion called Bokononism is practiced, as a sense of doom (in the form of icenine) overtakes mankind.
Ragnarök: The End of the Gods by
Call Number: PR6052.Y2 R34 2011
As the bombs of the Blitz rain down on Britain, one young girl is evacuated to the countryside. She is struggling to make sense of her new wartime life. Then she is given a copy of Asgard and the Gods -- a book of ancient Norse myths -- and her inner and outer worlds are transformed.
A Canticle for Leibowitz by
Call Number: PS3563.I4215 C3 1975
Follows the struggle of the Monks of the Order of Saint Leibowitz to preserve the remnants of civilization after a nuclear war and to protect them against tyranny.
The Stand by
Publication Date: 2012
When a man escapes from a biological testing facility, he sets in motion a deadly domino effect, spreading a mutated strain of the flu that will wipe out 99 percent of humanity within a few weeks. The survivors who remain are scared, bewildered, and in need of a leader. Two emerge--Mother Abagail, the benevolent 108-year-old woman who urges them to build a community in Boulder, Colorado; and Randall Flagg, the nefarious "Dark Man," who delights in chaos and violence."
World War Z by
Publication Date: 2006
The Zombie War came unthinkably close to eradicating humanity. Max Brooks, traveled throughout the world, from decimated cities that once teemed with upwards of thirty million souls to the most remote and inhospitable areas of the planet to record the testimony of men, women, and sometimes children who came face-to-face with the hell of that dreadful time.
V for Vendetta by
Publication Date: 1995
The year is 1998, and England has become a corrupt, totalitarian state. Enter V, a mysterious man wearing a grinning, white, porcelain mask, who intends to free the downtrodden public from the oppressor, through his terrorism and absurd acts.
Good Omens by
Publication Date: 2007
When the armies of Heaven and Hell decide it's time for Armageddon, a demon and an angel decide they like life on earth and team up to stop the coming apocalypse.
Biblical Disasters and Religion Books
The Apocalyptic Year 1000 by
Call Number: BT886.3 .A66 2003
Publication Date: 2003
The essays in this book challenge prevailing views on the way in which apocalyptic concerns contributed to larger processes of social change at the first millennium. Several basic questions unify the essays: What chronological and theological assumptions underlay apocalyptic and millennial speculations around the Year 1000? How broadly disseminated were those speculations? Can we speak of a mentality of apocalyptic hopes and anxieties on the eve of the millennium?
These books feature a character who face a harsh world after some cataclysmic event, all of which are from our library collection.
Wild Edible Plants of Western North America by
A comprehensive guide to nearly 2000 wild edible plants in the Western U.S., SW Canada and NW Mexico, including methods of preparation and how to avoid poisonous plants.
A Feast of Weeds by
Call Number: QK98.5.A1 B3513 2012
The primal experience of gathering is inscribed in every human's DNA, and this book invites us to look beyond the refrigerator and cupboard to the abundance of wild edible plants that can be found and harvested everywhere. Part reference guide, part cookbook, this book encourages readers to forage diverse natural environments for food, even in our city parks and streets.
The Wilderness Handbook by
Call Number: SK606.P47 1974
Survival : avoiding survival situations; Dressing for the wild outdoors; Equipping for the wild outdoors; Rations for the wild outdoors; Trail techniques; Camping for conservation; Expedition behavior; Outdoor leadership;Basic climbing; Summer snow techniques; Winter mountaineering; Mountain medicine and evacuation; Educating users of the wild outdoors.
Apocalypse in Art
Late Antiques, Early Christian and Medieval Art by
Call Number: N7832 .S26 1979
This book covers the roles in society of the artist & art, of the critic & criticism; the relationships between patron & artist, psychoanalysis & art, & philosophy & art.
Writing the Apocalypse by
Call Number: PQ7082.N7 Z36 1989
This is a comparative literary study of apocalyptic themes and narrative techniques in the contemporary North and Latin American novel. Zamora explores the history of the myth of apocalypse, from the Bible to medieval and later interpretations, and relates this to the development of American apocalyptic attitudes
The Apocalypse and the Shape of Things to Come by
Call Number: NX650.A6 A66 1999
This book examines the depiction of the Apocalypse in the visual arts over nearly 1,000 years. After the great medieval manuscript cycles, the pivotal point in the development of the pictorial tradition was Dürer's famous set of woodcuts, published in 1498. Apocalyptic imagery was quickly exploited for propaganda and satire by artists such as James Gillray, while Gillray's contemporary William Blake used it as part of a personal mythology that pervaded every aspect of his work.
Illuminating the End of Time by
Call Number: ND3361.R52 D954 2012
Illuminated texts of the Apocalypse were particularly popular in thirteenth-century England, and the copy in the collections of the J. Paul Getty Museum, with its lively narrative miniatures, stands as a testament to the artistic heights achieved during that period. In this richly illustrated book, all eighty-two of the manuscript's images are reproduced in color for the first time.