Research Guides: IDS 101: You're on What Diet: Find Sources

Find Books, Movies, Articles, and More

Academic Search Complete is an interdisciplinary databases that provides full text access to 8,500+ academic journals in the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, and multi-cultural journals. It also indexes nearly 12,500 peer-reviewed journals.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Be sure your Google Scholar preferences include Willamette University as your library (under library links) to access Willamette-licensed content. For more customization & info visit our Google Scholar page.

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, Christian Science Monitor, etc. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc. It also contains selective full text for more than 370 regional (U.S.) newspapers.

Oxford Reference Online
(Full-text)
This online resource is a collection of 100 well-known and trusted dictionaries and reference books combined into a single cross-searchable interface.
Encyclopedia Britannica
(Fulltext)
An excellent starting point for almost any topic of research, the Britannica offers both concise descriptions, and longer, more comprehensive articles on a wide variety of topics.

stack of books

EBSCO Search Terms

Keywords: Diet fad, healthy fats, aggressive marketing, sedentary, physically active and exercise, economic impact, social burden, nutrition, health, body fat, genetics, engineered junk food, insulin, diabetes, medication, leptin resistance, food availability, food desert, sugar, artificial sweeteners, misinformation, obesity, progressive disease
Locations: Japan (84.6 years), Singapore (83.7), South Korea (83.4), Norway (83.2), Australia (83.2), Switzerland (83.1), Iceland (83.1), Israel (82.7), Malta (82.7), Sweden (82.4), Italy (82.4)

Examples