Climate, Race, Economy: New Systems Thinking
Climate change, economic inequity, and racial injustice are key indicators of a systems wide failure in our economic, political, and cultural arenas. Solutions will require bold thinking, courage, and the creation of new pathways and alternative models. What does it really mean to “change the system?” How can we imagine new possibilities? And what will our role be in creating them? The purpose of the class is to engage students in creating the frameworks they need to understand systemic change and how they can contribute to a more equitable, sustainable future.
Course taught by: Wendy Petersen-Boring. Colloquium Associate: Lily O'Shea
Course taught by: Nathan Sivers Boyce Colloquium Associate: Sally Wooster
Wikipedia is a great resource for getting general info about something, but because anyone can contribute or change its content, it is sometimes considered unreliable. It is a good place to start your research, but it is best to double check what you find against other sources.
Consider consulting the library's print or electronic encyclopedias, dictionaries, or other reference books to backup the basic information of your paper. Reference books can provide a general overview of a topic and help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data; these sources often include references and lists of further readings. Additionally, these resources have typically gone through an editorial process to check for accuracy. To the right and below are some resources that may be of use.
Encyclopaedia of Human Rights in the United States, 2 Volume Set by 
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change, Second Edition
Indigenous Peoples: an Encyclopedia of Culture, History, and Threats to SurvivalBelow are key reference books that provide a general overview of a topic or help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data. These sources often include references and lists of further readings.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences by 
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Economics and Society by 
An Atlas of Poverty in America by 
Occupational Outlook Handbook 2016-2017 by 
Encyclopedia of Social Networks by 
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society
Revolts, Protests, Demonstrations, and Rebellions in American History - An Encyclopedia by 
Class in America - an encyclopedia by 
Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics by 
Unspinning the Spin : the Women's Media Center guide to fair and accurate language by 
