Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How To Find Articles
If an article is not available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button.
This will check if we have access through a different database and our print collection.
If we do not have access, you will be given an option to order it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Fill out the form and click "Submit." It takes about 2 business days to get articles.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).
All Databases at Willamette
Databases are how articles are indexed; indexes primarily tell you that articles exist opposed to providing the full-text of articles. These databases cover literature that is related to this subject area. The full list of WU database is available by alphabetic list or subject. There are also guides available to walk you through how to find materials.
Finding Newspaper Articles
The databases listed below provide access to articles from a variety of newspapers.
Access World News
Full-text content of over 2,200 North American newspapers and more than 1,200 international newspapers, plus 300 wire services and over 200 broadcast news transcripts.
A full-text newspaper database which allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields. Includes over 1000 papers, both domestic and international.
New York Times (1980 - present)
Provides searchable full text.
Provides selected full text articles from 143 U.S. and international newspapers.
Enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.
Finding Journals Articles and More
The databases listed below will be helpful in locating journal articles dealing with Native American issues; many of them will be useful in locating book reviews as well. Be aware that many of them will also provide citations to other materials such as books, dissertations, conference proceedings and much more.
- Note: for information about finding book reviews, click on more...
Academic Search Premier (ASP)
ASP is a full-text interdisciplinary database that can filter to peer-reviewed and full-text literature. This is great resource for starting your research. Note: To locate Book Reviews, limit your search by "Document Type" and select "Book Review."
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
Provides articles, tables and figures on environmental science.
Provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine.
America History and Life
Provides access to scholarly literature on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations.
Brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Offers worldwide indexing of all core periodicals, in addition to lesser-known journals, from the late 19th century to today. Provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies
Provides 100 years of anthropological material online to scholars and the public. Includes a complete electronic archive of all AAA journals, access to archival content housed at JSTOR, and current issues for 15 of the most critical AAA peer-reviewed publications.
Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC)
CMMC provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection
Providing robust coverage of the field of environmental issues and policy, this collection, which includes nearly 200 journals, provides instant access to the multiple viewpoints of this volatile field of study, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.
Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints from the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
Gender Studies Database
This database combines the Womens Studies International and the Mens Studies databases to provide coverage of gender related scholarship. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.
A database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.
Provides full text from nearly 270 periodicals covering nutrition, exercise, medical self-care, drugs and alcohol, and much more. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 430 periodicals.
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text
Provides complete coverage of the most important English language legal information.
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes critical material on the modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore.
Political Science Database
Provides articles on international relations and political science.
Provides citations to articles in over 3000 journals covering sociology, social work and other social sciences.