Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 

IDS 101: Whose History? Whose Memory?: Archives

Memorials at Willamette

The Archives has a spreadsheet that documents Willamette's memorials, buildings, and plantings that you can explore and reference!

Collegian

Search The Collegian for articles on memorials, commemorative statues, and building names. For over 130 years Willamette students have experienced and reported on local (specifically WU campus!), regional, and national events in the pages of The Collegian. This resource is keyword searchable from 1875 to present. 

The Collegian, March 1, 1912

The Yearbook

The Wallulah (yearbook)  is online and keyword searchable between 1903 - 2006. Memorials, statues, markers are often referred to. 

1948 Wallulah

Diary of Chloe Clarke Willson

The Chloe Clarke Willson journal documents Willson's experiences as a Methodist missionary teacher at the Oregon Institute (later Willamette University) in Salem, Oregon. Willson's journal is available digitally and is also transcribed. 

The Scene

Willamette University Alumni Publications is a collection of magazines that dates back to 1919 and continues to the present day. All alumni publications are keyword searchable and often have valuable information alongside images. 

Methodist Bishop G. Bromley Oxman unveils the Rev. Jason Lee statue as Willamette President G. Herbert Smith stands beside him at dedication ceremonies of the statue at Statuary Hall in Washington D.C. The Willamette University Alumnus, March 1953.

Campus Photograph Collection

The Willamette University Campus Photograph Collection is comprised of over 2,700 photographic prints, negatives, slides, and copy prints of sketches and blueprints, is a rich documentary resource covering nearly a century and a half of Willamette’s history. 

Professor Robert Gatke alongside the Circuit Rider statue, toppled by the historic Columbus Day Storm in October 1962

Willamette University Photograph Collection, WP 1502, Box 12

Processing Archivist

University Archives and Special Collections

Visit the Archives

Mark O. Hatfield Library / Second Floor

Monday - Friday

9 a.m. - Noon / 1 p.m. - 4 p.m.

Website:

http://library.willamette.edu/archives/

Questions?

Contact: Stephanie Milne-Lane

smilnelane@willamette.edu

503-370-6147

Larsen Chemawa Indian School Collection

The Charles E. Larsen Chemawa Indian School collection is a compilation of Chemawa Indian School and Northwest Native American history dating from the late nineteenth to early twentieth century. Materials in this collection give a look at student and employee life on the Chemawa campus. 

James H. Wilbur Papers

The James H. Wilbur papers consist of his travel journal, correspondence, legal and accounting papers dating from 1850 to 1887. The bulk of the material is from the 1880s and pertains to his career as Indian Agent for the Yakama Reservation at Fort Simcoe in the Washington Territory.