Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Robert E. Lee Statue Removed in New Orleans, May 19, 2017
Chronicles of Willamette (Digitized)
Books about Willamette University
The Oregon Encyclopedia
The Oregon Encyclopedia
The purpose of the Oregon Encyclopedia of History and Culture is to provide definitive, authoritative information about all aspects of the State of Oregon, including significant individuals, places, cultures, institutions, events, and peoples.
Encyclopedias and More
Oxford Reference Online
100 well-known and trusted dictionaries and reference books combined into a single cross-searchable web database.
The electronic version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica. An excellent starting point for almost any topic of research, the Britannica offers both concise descriptions, and longer, more comprehensive articles on a wide variety of topics.
Oxford English Dictionary
The online version of the classic dictionary. An unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Call Number: HAT Reference CB 9 .N49 2005
Publication Date: 2004
Volume 4, pages 1418-1422, Memory
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century
Call Number: HAT Reference E 169.1 .E626 2001
Publication Date: 2000
Volume 2, pages 360-363, Monuments and Memorials
Oxford Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History
Call Number: HAT Reference E 169.1 .O945 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Volume 2, page 227-229, Public Art
Dictionary of American History
Call Number: HAT Reference E 174 .D52 2003
Publication Date: 2002
Volume 1, pages 305-309, Art: Sculpture
Encyclopedia of War and American Society
Call Number: HAT Reference E181 .E634 2006
Publication Date: 2005
Volume 2, pages 484-491, Memorials and Monuments
People of Color in the United States
Call Number: HAT Reference E184.A1 P384 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Volume 1, pages 266-275, Racism in Colleges and Universities
Race and Racism in the United States
Call Number: HAT Reference E184.A1 R254 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Volume 4, pages 1350-1351, White Supremacy
Dictionary of Oregon History
Call Number: HAT Reference F874 .D53 1989
Publication Date: 1989
Material Culture in America
Call Number: HAT Reference GN560.U6 M37 2008
Publication Date: 2007
Pages 371-376, Public Monuments and Popular Commemoration
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
Call Number: HAT Reference H 41.I58 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Volume 4, pages 181-187, Collective Memory, Anthropology of
Men and Masculinities
Call Number: HAT Reference HQ1090.3 .M436 2004
Publication Date: 2003
Volume 1, pages 380-381, Hero
Encyclopedia of Diversity in Education
Call Number: HAT Reference LC 1099 .E53 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Volume 3, pages 1605-1608, Nativism in the United States
The Oxford Companion to Art
Call Number: HAT Reference N33 .O9
Publication Date: 1970
Pages 159-164, Bronze Sculpture
Movies in American History
Call Number: HAT Reference PN 1993.5.U6 M685 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Volume 1, pages 41-46, Birth of a Nation, The
The Companion to Southern Literature
Call Number: HAT Reference PS261 .C55 2002
Publication Date: 2001
Pages 423-427, Lee, Robert E.
Authoritative Reference Sources vs Wikipedia
Wikipedia is a great resource for getting general info about something, but because anyone can contribute or change its content it is considered unreliable. College faculty typically do not consider Wikipedia a credible information source.
Instead, use the library's print or electronic encyclopedias, dictionaries, or other reference books to backup the basic information of your research paper. These resources have gone through an editorial process to check for accuracy. To the right and below are some resources that may be of use.
Humanities and Fine Arts Librarian
Subjects:Art & Art History
, Asian Studies
, Cinema Studies
, German & Russian
, Languages & Linguistics
, Latin American Studies
, Religious Studies
What Librarians Can Do for You
You can set up an individual research consultation with a subject librarian for research help. Here are a few other things that we can do for you:
- Show you the best places to begin your research.
- Locate the information you need within our library or elsewhere.
- Help you cite information correctly (e.g. APA style).
- Judge the quality & reliability of information.
- Teach you how to use information ethically (e.g. avoiding plagiarism).
- Determine whether something is peer-reviewed.
Hours during the Academic Year
Mon-Thur 9 a.m. -- 9 p.m.
Friday 9 a.m. -- 5 p.m.
Sunday 1 p.m. -- 9 p.m.
Mon-Thur 10 a.m. -- 5 p.m.
6 p.m. -- 9 p.m.
Friday 1 p.m. -- 4 p.m
Contact: firstname.lastname@example.org for an appointment.
Note: The library is closed to the general public and open to students, faculty, and staff with current Willamette ID.
More calendar info...