Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Browse for Books
These are the main Library of Congress subjects (call numbers), which link to subclasses in an interactive PDF document.
Pixar short films collection
Call Number: PN1995.9.A6 P482 2007
Includes one of the original Pixar short films called "For the Birds," among other short films.
This horror movie by Alfred Hitchcock became hugely popular when it originally was released in 1963. You could say that fans "flocked" to see it! Either that or permanently scared of birds...
Looney Tunes Platinum Collection
Call Number: PN 1995.9.A6 L663 2012
WU Libraries Catalogs
Find Books, Movies and More
Related Books at Willamette
What Are the Animals to Us?: approaches from science, religion, folklore, literature, and art by
Call Number: QL85 .W43 2007
Publication Date: 2006-09-01
From the first woolly mammoths painted in exquisite detail on Paleolithic cave walls to contemporary depictions of anthropomorphized mice as heroes of animated films and fiction, animals have played crucial roles in human cultures around the world.
The Wonder of Birds: what they tell us about ourselves, the world, and a better future by
Call Number: QL676 .R63 2017
Publication Date: 2017-05-30
Our relationship to birds is different from our relationship to any other wild creatures. They are found virtually everywhere and we love to watch them, listen to them, keep them as pets, wear their feathers, even converse with them.
Birds and Creaturely Hierarchies in Renaissance Literature: Shakespeare, Descartes, and animal studies by
Call Number: PR428.A55 B33 2018
Publication Date: 2017-08-10
It examines how Renaissance literature and natural history display an unequal creaturely world: all creatures were categorized hierarchically. However, post-Cartesian readings of Shakespeare and other Renaissance literature have misunderstood Renaissance hierarchical creaturely relations, including human relations.
Raptor: a journey through birds : with a new preface by
Call Number: QL677.78 .L632 2017
Publication Date: 2017-04-07
On its surface, Raptor is a journey across the British Isles in search of fifteen species of birds of prey, but as Lockhart seeks out these elusive predators, his quest becomes so much more: an incomparably elegant elegy on the beauty of the British landscape and, through the birds, a journey toward understanding an awesome power at the heart of the natural world--a power that is majestic and frightening in its strength, but also fragile.
Silent Spring by
Call Number: SB959.C3
Publication Date: 2002-10-22
An important, controversial account of the way in which man's use of poisons to control insect pests and unwanted vegetation is changing the balance of nature.
Birds As Useful Indicators of High Nature Value Farmlands (HNV) by
Call Number: S494.5.S86 B47 2017
Publication Date: 2017-02-13
This book helps to establish a simple framework to identify and use bird species as a bioindicator for high nature value (HNV) farmlands.
From Here We Speak: an anthology of Oregon poetry by
Call Number: PS283.O7 O85 v.4
Publication Date: 1993-12-01
This is a collection of poetry written by prominent Oregonians that ranges widely from socials issues to nature.
The birds of Vancouver Island's west coast by
Call Number: QL685.5.B8 D565 2018
Publication Date: 2018
The Birds of Vancouver Island's West Coast presents accounts of all of the species thus far recorded as occurring in the region – 360 in total – and updates the 231 species recorded up to 1978. Each account includes a brief introduction to the species and an overview of its total range.
The Sibley Field Guide to Birds of Western North America by
Call Number: QL681 .S4942 2016
Publication Date: 2016-03-29
Covering North American species of the Rocky Mountains and west, offering a wealth of improvements and updates.
Speaking of Animals: a dictionary of animal metaphors by
Call Number: Reference PE1583 .P33
Publication Date: 1995-04-30
This covers the etymology (origin of words and changing uses of word meanings) dealing with metaphors, folklore, specifically about animals.
Dictionary of Symbols in Western Art by
Call Number: Reference N7740 .C29
Publication Date: 1995-01-01
llusions in pictures are the topic of this book which is intended to be a guide to the meanings of works of art. Symbols based on the saints and martyrs, on myth and the Bible and on characters and episodes from the Middle Ages to the 19th century are listed, defined and explained.
The Oxford Dictionary of Phrase and Fable by
Call Number: Reference PN43 .O94
Publication Date: 2001-01-04
Entries identify more than twenty thousand people, places, expressions, and specialized terms from throughout the world, along with lists of related items that are considered as part of a group, and celebrated dying words.
Oxford Reference Online
This online resource is a collection of 100 well-known and trusted dictionaries and reference books combined into a single cross-searchable interface.
The electronic version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica. An excellent starting point for almost any topic of research, the Britannica offers both concise descriptions, and longer, more comprehensive articles on a wide variety of topics.
Search our Ebscohost collection of nearly 5,000 e-books. These are some bird-related e-books:
The Sensory Ecology of Birds by
Publication Date: 2017
This is the first integrated synthesis of avian sensory ecology, explaining the broad principles and taking the reader into the sensory world of birds from an evolutionary and ecological perspective.
Avian Evolution by
Publication Date: 2016-10-31
"Of all the works on the evolution of birds, it is the most modern, complete summary, with just enough fossil figures (no reconstructions), including 16 central color pencils, morphological descriptions and of genealogical trees. A mine of reflections that illuminate our current settlements.
Pathology of Pet and Aviary Birds by
Publication Date: 2015-09-28
Pathology of Pet and Aviary Birds, Second Edition provides a comprehensive reference to the gross and histologic features of diseases seen in pet and aviary birds, with more than 850 images depicting disease lesions
Scarlet Experiment by
Publication Date: 2016-11-01
Scarlet Experiment explores how humanity's relationship with birds has been influenced by governmental agencies, literary renderings, and the conservation movement and uses six bird species to study the management of bird life in America from the nineteenth century to the present.