This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
 

CCM 101: Public Speaking with Dr. de Onis: Major Pollsters

Overall note about Pollsters & Accessing polls

Almost all polling firms possess reams of data, from which they try to generate sound bites of polling results that are picked up by the media.

Each polling firm tries to secure as much media attention as possible for its recently conducted polls, while at the same time, holding back on much of the details, so that firms can earn big money when they decide to reveal "the crown jewels" of detailed results that the headline news focused on.

One organization might offer you online access to a 60 page report, while other survey results are nothing more than a handful of sentences centering around just a single piece of data.  There is no requirement for any firm to give away free copies of all of their research.

This difference between "top line results" and the full inches thick set of polling results is common with both For-Profit pollsters, as well as most Non-Profit pollsters.

Each polling organization determines how much information will be released to their paying clients, and how much will be released free of cost to the public, or to academic researchers.  The different levels of disclosure are based more on the whims of each polling group, rather than being based on a consistent formulaic decision.

Each of the nationwide firms listed below offers a variety of details about recently released polling results, and various levels of subject queries to their completed survey projects.

Accessing polling data from the IPOLL database

iPOLL is a comprehensive full text source for public opinion data in the United States, covering 1935 to the present.

This database is produced by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research (an affiliate of Cornell University). 

iPOLL includes data survey results from academic, commercial and media survey organizations such as ABC News, the Gallup Organization, the Pew Research Centers, the Kaiser Family Foundation, and many more. The data come from all the surveys in the Roper Center archive that have US national adult samples or samples of registered voters, women, African Americans, or any subpopulation that constitutes a large segment of the national adult population. iPOLL does not include state samples or foreign samples (see Catalog of Holdings/Search for Datasets).

Examples of Non-Profit Polling Groups

Examples of For-Profit Polling Firms

Media Coverage of Polls & Pollsters

Trade magazine article:

Explains why general concerns about the environment have fallen in priority:

  •  - Article titled "The Environment Moves Onto the Back Burner", from Brandweek.  Published February 2, 2009.  Volume 50, Issue 5, p 14.  Click to retrieve from Business Source Premier database.

 

Online promotional article from a trade publication:

Proclaims "The Washington Post rated the top source for opinion leaders inside the Beltway:"

  •  - Article titled "The Washington Post rated the top source for opinion leaders inside the Beltway", from The Washington Post (PR blog).  Published December 9, 2015.  Click to retrieve from the publication's wesbsite.

 

Business research article:

Discusses relationships between the advertising dynamics in general, and advertising specifically about environmental matters:

  •  - Article titled "Green Intentions: An Exploratory Study on Advertising and the Environmental Movement", from Journal of Research for Consumers. Authored by Tanya Ryan. Published 2015.  Issue 26, p 76-105.  Click to retrieve from the journal's website.

 

Social science research article:

Discusses differences between public perceptions of controversial science subjects, specifically on climate change & public health:

  •  - Article titled "Changing Long Held Beliefs", from Skeptic. Authored by Shawn K. Stover. Published 2014.  Volume 19, Issue 3, p 54-56.  Click to retrieve from Academic Source Premier database.

 

Press release authored by a public relations consulting firm:

Summarizes results of an annual survey about contemporary issue & media influences:

  •  - Press Release titled "Erdos & Morgan Releases 2015 Opinion Leaders Study", from Erdos & Morgan, Inc.  Published February 7, 2017.  Click to retrieve from Erdos & Morgan's website.

 

3 Resources for locating public opinion polls about Environment and also about Students:

  •  - Access polls produced by the Pew Research Center in collaboration with the Roper Center.  You can browse from over 200 topics, or search for a specific keyword.
  •  - Access polls produced by Gallup, Inc.  You can view the most recent poll results about the United States, or your can go the top left of that same results screen, and change to a specific topic of your choice.  You can also go to the upper right corner, and click on the "search" line to enter a very specific keyword.
  •  - Access a library of student centered polls produced by Gallup, Inc. 

Gary Klein (Reference Librarian)

Gary Klein's picture
Gary Klein
Contact:
Mark O. Hatfield Library
Willamette University
900 State Street
Salem, OR 97301

Work phone: #503-370-6743

Gary's general work schedule (Spring 2020):
Mon - Thu = 9:30am -- 9pm; Fri = 9:30am -- 5:30pm AND ALSO by appointment at other times.
Website