Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How To Find Articles
If an article is not available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button.
This will check if we have access through a different database and our print collection.
If we do not have access, you will be given an option to order it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Fill out the form and click "Submit." It takes about 2 business days to get articles.
Just Starting Your Research?
Start with this database when looking for articles in this subject area.
Academic Search Premier
This interdisciplinary database has the full-text to over 4,400 academic journals, and indexes nearly 8,000 journals. Most of the full-text journals are peer reviewed.
Access World News
Full-text content of over 2,200 North American newspapers and more than 1,200 international newspapers, plus 300 wire services and over 200 broadcast news transcripts.
Provides full text for over 1,830 general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural periodicals. Includes magazines like Good Housekeeping, Cosmopolitan, Vanity Fair, Redbook, Sports Illustrated, Time, etc.
Provides selected full text articles from 143 U.S. and international newspapers
Primary Anthropology Databases
Brings together into one resource Anthropological Literature from Harvard University & Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Offers indexing of core periodicals, as well as lesser-known journals, from the late 19th century to today. Provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological & linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and more.
Provides 100 years of anthropological material online to scholars and the public. Includes a complete electronic archive of all AAA journals, access to archival content housed at JSTOR, and current issues for 15 of the most critical AAA peer-reviewed publications.
Other Potentially Useful Databases
America History and Life
Provides access to scholarly literature on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present.
ATLA Religion Database
Contains citations from journal articles, essays within multi-author works, book reviews, and doctoral dissertations focusing on religion and theology, from around the world.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Provides indexing to western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971. Searchable by keyword (any field), author, title, journal, and subject, it may also be browsed by subject, journal or country.
Communications and Mass Media Complete (CMMC)
CMMC provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.
Ethnic NewsWatch Complete
Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints from the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
Gender Studies Database
This database combines the Womens Studies International and the Mens Studies databases to provide coverage of gender related scholarship.
Provides access to international scholarly literature on the history of the world, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present.
Provides access to books, journal articles, book chapters, and conference proceedings on all aspects of Latin American studies, including Anthropology, Art, Economics, Government and Politics, International Relations, Literature, Music, Philosophy, and Sociology.
MLA International Bibliography
MLA (Modern Language Association) is useful for linguistic and folklore topics.
Provides indexing and author-written abstracts to the international literature of philosophy.
Provides citations to articles in over 3000 journals covering sociology, social work and other social sciences.
Journal Articles Written by Anthropologists
If you locate an article using an Anthropology resource such as AnthroSource, than you can be fairly confident that an anthropologist wrote the article. If the name of the journal has Anthropology in it that is usually a fairly good bet as well. If you're using a database, such as Academic Search Premier, look at the full citation and look for "Author Affiliations" so you can determine if the author is a member of a Department of Anthropology. If you have the full-text of a peer-reviewed journal, the Author's affiliation is usually listed.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).