Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Firms & Industries / Corporate Reports / Industry Snapshots / Financial Ratios
You may be prompted to enter your Willamette University username & password, in order to access these proprietary documents guides that were designed exclusively for AGSM
Businesses Located in Oregon (how to find using external resources)
This is the website of the State of Oregon's official corporation records for both non-profits & for-profit businesses. It contains legal names, corporate agents, lead officer, and current status of each entry. The primary access point requires knowing keywords from a company's name. This resource will NOT find all Oregon firms in a certain line of business.
Employment trends & dynamics in Oregon
Provides a wide variety of information about the state of employment, unemployment and job growth in Oregon. Some reports are also available by county, by MSA, or by regions within the State of Oregon.
Find Industry size & Market shares
Offers clickable shortcuts for finding Industry profiles; Market shares; Company profiles; Industry rankings, and SWOT reports
Finding Corporate Snapshots and Annual Reports to Shareholders (how to find)
Identifies and walks you through 4 of Hatfield Library's subscription databases to get your hands on Corporate snapshots. Also includes how to find Annual Reports to Shareholders.
Finding Industry Analyses using MERGENT INTELLECT
If you have an idea of what type of industry within North American you want to focus on, this is an overview of 2 resources from the Mergent Intellect bundle of databases. One is numerical financial ratios ("Key Business Ratios"), the other is text based analyses ("First Research").
Find New Products & New Businesses
Offers clickable shortcuts for finding articles about NEW products, NEW services, or NEW businesses
Introduction to Corporate Annual Reports to Shareholders and 10-K Reports
Explains the who, what, when & how of both Corporate Annual Report to Shareholders and also 10-K Reports.
Wards Business Directory
Online directory of over 100,000 companies in USA. Provides brief snapshots about Private and Public corporations. Search options include: Keywords in description, City, State, Zipcode, Area code, Names of officers, and SIC/NAICS codes. Unfortunately, the creator of this database aggregates two other databases with the same login, so every time you want to use the Ward's Directory, you have to specify which of the 3 underlying databases you really want to use.
What if you cannot find an appropriate Industry?
These are things to consider & alternative suggestions to follow, IF your initial attempt to find an industry of your interest does not seem to work.
What is a NAICS or SIC code?
Explains what a NAICS code is, and offers a link to find NAICS code numbers for a product or industry that you want to focus on
What is HOOVER'S DIRECTORY?
6 business resources under one roof. Start by entering a company name, then you can identify some of their competitors, look for industry reports, or get quick financial information. Also links to company websites.
Gary Klein (Reference Librarian)
Subjects: Atkinson (AGSM)
, Civic Communication & Media
, Politics, Policy, Law and Ethics
, Rhetoric & Media Studies