Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Here is a sample illustration from Harper's Bazaar, as found in the American Periodical Series Online Database:
Google Images can also be a source for images, but you will need to use specific terms in your search..
Use "Google Grammar" to improve your search. For example:
"ancient egyptian" +Costume
Art & Costume Images
This collection contains images of artwork, archaeological sites, architecture and maps. Works from the Hallie Ford Museum of Art are included. Access is restricted to Willamette University students, faculty and staff.
The Hallie Ford Museum of Art
The Hallie Ford Museum of Art Collections currently include works of Pacific Northwest artists and images of the Museum.
ARTstor provides a broad and deep general collection of images of world art and architecture, as well as special collections including Native American, Asian, American and European art.
American Periodical Series Online
American Periodical Series Online: Provides indexing and full text to over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900. Included are special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children and women magazines, and other historically-significant periodicals, such as Harper’s Bazaar.
The Museum at FIT
An online collection of images from the Fashion Institute of Technology at SUNY
Elizabethan Costuming Page
A detailed historical and visual guide on Elizabethan dress that includes sewing and catalog information.
HEARTH: Home Economic Archives
HEARTH is a core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. Includes Clothing & Textiles
The Costume Page
A comprehensive collection of resources on historical, ethnic, and theatrical costume.
The Costumer's Manifesto
An enormous list of links to images, collections, and information about costumes through the ages. The manifesto itself is worthwhile reading for everyone involved in theater production, not just designers.
The History of Costume by Braun & Schneider
A web version of the 19th century book on the history of costume with plenty of full-color illustrations.