Reference Resources
Listed on this page are key reference resources that provide a general overview of a topic or help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data. These sources often include references and lists of further readings.
Online Encyclopedias and More
-
Oxford Reference Online100 well-known and trusted dictionaries and reference books combined into a single cross-searchable web database. Includes The Oxford Companion to Theatre and Performance.
-
Britannica OnlineThe electronic version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica. An excellent starting point for almost any topic of research, the Britannica offers both concise descriptions, and longer, more comprehensive articles on a wide variety of topics.
-
Encyclopedia of Clothing and FashionISBN: 0684313944
Grove Dictionary of Art
-
The Grove Dictionary of Art by Call Number: HAT 2d Floor Stacks N31 .D5 1996ISBN: 1884446000Publication Date: 2003The only comprehensive art reference work in the world. It covers all the visual arts from prehistory to the 1990’s in 34 volumes. This is also available online as Grove Art Online.
Searching Tips for the Grove Dictionary of Art
- Try a search using the term Dress.
- Click on a subcategory that interests you.
- See if there is a book or article in the Bibliography that would be useful to you.
- Look in the library catalog for those books from the Bibliography.
- (Ask a librarian to help you find an article from the Bibliography)
- Click on the Links section for that article.
- Follow the links to different museums, and check out their online exhibits.
- Write down the terms you find to describe different periods, styles, articles of clothing, etc., throughout your whole searching process.
Print Reference Books
-
Fairchild's Dictionary of FashionCall Number: Hatfield Reference GT507 .C34 1988ISBN: 0870056352Publication Date: 1988 -
Encyclopedia of Clothing and FashionCall Number: Hatfield Reference GT507 .E53 2005ISBN: 0684313944Publication Date: 2004
-
Survey of Historic CostumeCall Number: Hatfield Reference GT580 .T67 2015ISBN: 1628921676Publication Date: 2015 -
Encyclopedia of TextilesCall Number: Hatfield Reference TS1309 .J47ISBN: 0816021058Publication Date: 1992
Humanities and Fine Arts Librarian
Doreen Simonsen
Contact:
Mark O. Hatfield Library
900 State Street
Salem, OR 97301
503-375-5343
900 State Street
Salem, OR 97301
503-375-5343
Photography Reference Books
-
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography by Call Number: HAT Reference TR642 .E5 2006ISBN: 1579583938Publication Date: 2005-11-15 -
Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Photography by Call Number: HAT Reference TR9 .H25 2008ISBN: 0415972353Publication Date: 2007-08-24
