This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
 

IDS 101: From Eudaimonia to Happiness: Articles/Databases

What is Peer-Review?

Peer-review is an evaluation process in which qualified individuals within specialized field of study reviews literature before it becomes published.  This process helps keep standards held by the profession, improves the quality of work being published, and provides credibility & reliability to published work & authors publishing the work. The 5-minute video below describes and discusses the importance of peer-review and its process.

(NCSU video, 5 min.)

How To Find Articles

  1. Use the databases listed on this page to find articles.
     
  2. If it isn't available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button.  We might have e-access another way or have it in print. 
  3. If we don't have it, order the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

If you're off-campus, you will be prompted for your Willamette username & password.

All Databases at Willamette

Databases are how articles are indexed; indexes primarily tell you that articles exist opposed to providing the full-text of articles.  These databases cover literature that is related to this subject area. The full list of WU database is available by alphabetic list or subject.  There are also guides available to walk you through how to find materials.

PsycINFO

PsycINFO is sometimes known by its older name, Psychological Abstracts.  It is the official database of the APA, American Psychological Association, and provides coverage of more journals of Psychology than any other database.  It also includes coverage of psychatry, cognitive neuroscience, organization behavior, and research from consumer oriented marketing perspectives.

PsycINFO
Limit Your Results

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier (ASP) is a full-text interdisciplinary database that can filter to peer-reviewed and full-text literature. This is great resource for starting your research.   Includes broad based coverage of the Social Sciences in general, as well as Psychology.

Academic Search Premier
Limit Your Results

Philosophy databases

This executes a joint search of two databases that cover the literature of Philosophy:

Philosophy Databases

 

Philosopher's Index is an indexing database that provides complete and comprehensive coverage of 600+ journals of Philosophy.  Although this database does not directly offer full text articles, it does include links so that you can readily obtain underlying articles from Hatfield Library's subscriptions to article delivery services.  Just use the maroon colored button to retrieve articles that interest you.

Religion & Philosophy Collection is a full text database providing access to 300+ magazines and journals covering Religion and also Philosophy.  Its focus includes the history of philosophy, epistemology, morality and all aspects of ethics.

Useful Databases for this Course

OTHER Full Text Scholarly Databases

Reference Librarian

Gary Klein's picture
Gary Klein
Contact:
Mark O. Hatfield Library
Willamette University
900 State Street
Salem, OR 97301

Work phone: #503-370-6743

Gary's general work schedule (Spring 2020):
Mon - Thu = 9:30am -- 9pm; Fri = 9:30am -- 5:30pm AND ALSO by appointment at other times.
Website