Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For more citation styles, click here.
All of the books listed here can be found in the Citation Collection, located adjacent to the reference desk.
Cite Right by
Publication Date: 2006-10-15
Reference PN171.F56 L55 2006
On compiling an annotated bibliography
Reference Z1001 .H33 2001
A manual for writers of research papers, theses, and dissertations: Chicago style for students and researchers by
Reference LB2369 .T8 2007
Writing research papers: a guide to the process by
Reference LB1047.3 .W44 1994
MLA Style Guide
The Modern Language Association (MLA) style is designed for the humanities (e.g. English, Spanish, German). These examples are adapted from the MLA Handbook for Writers of
Research Papers and provides examples of how
to document source material when preparing scholarly papers. Printed copies of the MLA Handbook are located
in the citation manual collection by the reference
desk (Call number: Reference LB2369.G53 2003).
You will need to cite your sources in two places within your
paper: in-text and bibliography
Part I outlines how to cite a source in the paragraph where
you have quoted, summarized, or paraphrased from the source (called an
Part II outlines how to create an list of
references, known as a bibliography, at the end of your paper that lists
anything you cite.
MLA Part I
PART I- CITATIONS IN TEXT
You must cite the source of either a quotation or paraphrased
material. Include the author's name and the page number(s) from which
the material was taken in parentheses following the statement you make.
If you mention the author in the text, you do not have to repeat his or
her name in the citation. If you cite more than one work by the same
author in your paper, you must include a short title to inform the
reader of which work you are citing.
- Citing author in text:
- In A Critical History of American Literature David Lynch
provides a useful discussion of the Romantics (538-89), as well as
authors from other periods.
- Citing author in reference:
- The author has described this era to be "the most turbulent in
modern history" (Brown 21).
- Citing author in text:
- In "The Threshold of the Mountain in Dante's Divine Comedy," Helen
Luke notes that "almost daily this great image of Dante's passage from
the blind murk to the shining dark may come to our aid"(55).
- Citing author in reference:
- In the 1990s, media coverage of police brutality reached an all
time high (Marshall 6).
MLA Part II
PART II - REFERENCES
- Book by a single author:
- Pollak, Vivian R. Dickinson: The Anxiety of Gender. Ithaca:
Cornell UP, 1984.
- Book by multiple authors:
- Holman, C. Hugh and William Harman. A Handbook to Literature.
New York: Macmillan, 1992.
- Article in a reference book:
- "Mandarin." Encyclopedia Americana. 1980 ed.
- Article in a journal with continuous pagination:
- Spear, Karen. "Building Cognitive Skills in Basic Writers." Teaching
English in the Two-Year College 9 (1983): 91-98.
- Article in a journal that pages each issue separately or that
uses only issue numbers:
- Lyon, George Ella. "Contemporary Appalachian Poetry: Sources and
Directions." Kentucky Review 2.2 (1981): 3-22.
- Article from a weekly or biweekly periodical:
- Begley, Sharon. "A Healthy Dose of Laughter." Newsweek 4
Oct. 1982: 60-88.
- Article from a monthly or bimonthly periodical:
- Snyder, Mark. "Self-Fulfilling Stereotypes." Psychology Today
July 1982: 60-88.
- An article from a daily newspaper:
- Collin, Glenn. "Single-Father Survey Finds Adjustment a Problem." New
York Times 21 Nov. 1983, late ed.: B17.
Basic citation components and punctuation for individual works
Author/editor. Title. Edition statement (if given). Place of
publication: publisher, date. Medium. Source of electronic information
(if available). Available: URL. Access date.
Unlandherm, Frank. Middle East studies resources . New York:
Columbia University, 1997. Online. Columbia University: Available: http://www.columbia.edu/cu/libraries/indiv/area/MiddleEast/index.html.
19 August 1997.
Arab republic of Egypt. Austin, TX: Center for Middle East
Studies, 1 June 1997. Online. Middle East Network Information Center.
18 August 1997.
For other examples of citing Internet resources see:
The MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
(Ref. LB 2369 .G53 2003)
sections 5.9 (page 207), sections 6.4 (page 242) and the index for
further specific electronic citation questions.
Zotero is a free, open source browser app that collects, manages, cites, and shares your research sources. It lives right in your web browser, and has a similar design to the iTunes library.
For help with Zotero contact:
John Repplinger firstname.lastname@example.org 503-370-6525
Bill Kelm, email@example.com, 503-375-5332
Students, faculty and staff have access to personal storage space on Willamette's network file server. The NetFiles storage space can be used to store and back up data for classes, projects and academic research. The file servers themselves are backed up regularly and data can be recovered in cases of local hard drive failures or accidental file corruption or deletion. All members of the community are strongly encouraged to save any files that cannot afford to be lost to their NetFiles storage space.
The disk quota for each account is 20 GB. You can check your current NetFiles disk usage online.
NetFiles makes daily copies of each stored file, called snapshots. These snapshots are user-accessible so you can retrieve your own files from a previous version. Please contact the WITS Help Desk or your user services consultant for help accessing or using the snapshots.
The file server may be accessed from any computer that has network connectivity. It is similar to DropBox or other on-line storage services - and it's completely free. Here's how to connect to your NetFiles storage:
On-Campus access: Map drives for PCs; Map drives for Macs OSX
Off-Campus access: Secure File Transfer Protocol (SFTP)
Personal Web Pages: Netfile directory
More info at: http://www.willamette.edu/wits/help/home/index.html
The Writing Center offers individual appointments with a writing consultant. Writing Center Consultants will give honest feedback about where the writing confuses them, or loses them, particularly interests them, leaves them needing additional explanation or support, and the like. They can help writers to organize their arguments more effectively by asking them, for example, what the organizing principle at work in the current draft is.
Schedule an appointment, view student associates, and view hours. Support for students whose home language is not English will also be provided.