Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding a Newspaper Article
The databases listed below provide access to articles from a variety of newspapers and will help you locate a mainstream newspaper article on a scientfic study related to weight.
Access World News
Full-text content of over 2,200 North American newspapers and more than 1,200 international newspapers, plus 300 wire services and over 200 broadcast news transcripts. Covers local, regional, and world issues, politics, government policies, sports, industries, cultural activities, schools, and the people and events in the community.
New York Times (1980 - present)
Provides searchable full text.
Provides selected full text articles from 143 U.S. and international newspapers.
Oregonian (Newsbank) (1987 to present)
The Oregonian is the major daily newspaper in Portland, Oregon, founded by Thomas J. Dryer in 1850. It is the largest newspaper in Oregon and the Pacific Northwest by circulation.
Provides articles from worldwide news sources.
Finding a Weekly News Article
The database listed below provides access to articles from a variety of publications including weekly news magazines; this may help you locate a mainstream news article on a scientfic study related to weight.
Provides full text for over 1,830 general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multicultural periodicals.
Locating a Scientific Study/Article:
Once you have found your news article, pay attention to the information given in the article for clues about how to find the scientific article. If the article lists the full title of the study, you may successfully locate the study by doing a good Google search. But sometimes the article doesn't give a title and then you need to do some additional sleuthing. For instance, did an organization like the USDA publish the report? If so, you may be able to find the full report at the USDA web site. But if the newspaper article mentioned the journal title where the study was published, you need to figure out if the library provides access to that journal title by checking in our Journal Finder.
Use the Journal Finder search box to see if Willamette has access to specific journal titles in electronic format. To find out whether WU has access to journal titles in print, use the library catalog.
E-Journals in the Hatfield Library collection
The following databases may help you locate the scientific article on which your news article reports:
Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for more than 4,450 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. It offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 7,900 journals. Over 3,500 of the full text journals are peer reviewed. All articles are in English.
Gender Studies Database
This database combines the Womens Studies International and the Mens Studies databases to provide coverage of gender related scholarship.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides full text from nearly 270 periodicals covering nutrition, exercise, medical self-care, drugs and alcohol, and much more. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 430 periodicals.
The U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM®) premier life sciences database.
Proquest Premium Social Sciences Collection
Provides articles on the social sciences, including politics, sociology, education and criminal justice.
Provides citations to articles in over 3000 journals covering sociology, social work and other social sciences.
How To Find Articles
If an article is not available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button.
This will check if we have access through a different database and our print collection.
If we do not have access, you will be given an option to order it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Fill out the form and click "Submit." It takes about 2 business days to get articles.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).
All Databases at Willamette
Databases are how articles are indexed; indexes primarily tell you that articles exist opposed to providing the full-text of articles. These databases cover literature that is related to this subject area. The full list of WU database is available by alphabetic list or subject. There are also guides available to walk you through how to find materials.