Research Guides: SOC 201: Navigating Social Worlds: Articles/Databases

Finding a Newspaper Article

The databases listed below provide access to articles from a variety of newspapers.

Access World News
Full-text content of over 2,200 North American newspapers and more than 1,200 international newspapers, plus 300 wire services and over 200 broadcast news transcripts.
Infotrac Newsstand
A full-text newspaper database which allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields. Includes over 1000 papers, both domestic and international.
Newspaper Source
Provides selected full text articles from 143 U.S. and international newspapers.
Oregonian (Newsbank) (1987 to present)
The Oregonian is the major daily newspaper in Portland, Oregon, founded by Thomas J. Dryer in 1850.

Databases Focused on Contemporary Issues

CQ Researcher
Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Opposing ViewPoints Resource Center
A one-stop source for information on current social issues. Drawing on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints, OVRC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.

Primary Sociology Databases

Sociological Abstracts
Often referred to as Soc Abs, Sociological Abstracts is the best place to go when looking for journal articles dealing with sociology topics. Provides citations to articles in over 3000 journals covering sociology, social work and other social sciences. Includes citations to book chapters, dissertations, conference proceedings, etc.
Sociology Database
This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.

Other Useful Databases

Periodicals/journals are important sources for current news and information about recent research. Databases are often the best way to locate these articles.

Academic Search Premier
Offers mostly full text articles from thousands of social sciences, humanities, science and arts journals.
AnthroSource
Provides a complete full-text archive of the American Anthropology Association's journals, newsletters and bulletins.
Education Database
Provides abstracts and indexing of over 900 education journals.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints from the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
Gale Academic OneFile
Provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Gender Studies Database
This database combines the Womens Studies International and the Mens Studies databases to provide coverage of gender related scholarship. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.
PAIS Index
Offers access to topics with an international focus, including public policy, public administration, government relations, governmental effectiveness, nonprofit organizations, political structures and international relations. Provides selective coverage of magazine and journal articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, and more.
PsycInfo
Abstracts and indexes the professional and academic literature in the field of psychology and related disciplines. Covers more than 1,300 journals in more than 30 languages. Also includes references to book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports.

How To Find Articles

Use the databases listed on this page to find articles.
If it isn't available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button. We might have e-access another way or have it in print.
If we don't have it, order the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

If you're off-campus, you will be prompted for your Willamette username & password.

All Databases at Willamette

Databases are how articles are indexed; indexes primarily tell you that articles exist opposed to providing the full-text of articles. These databases cover literature that is related to this subject area. The full list of WU database is available by alphabetic list or subject. There are also guides available to walk you through how to find materials.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).

SOC 201: Navigating Social Worlds: Articles/Databases