This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
 

Borrowing Policies: Borrowers & Loan Periods

Borrower Groups

WU Students, Faculty & Staff

  • Includes: AGSM, CLA, Law, and TIUA.


Alumni & Community Borrowers

  • Includes: Community Borrowers and Willamette University Alumni.


Special Borrowers

  • Includes: Spouses, Domestic Partners & Dependents of WU Faculty, Admin, & Staff;  Emeritus Faculty; Associated/Affiliated Scholars; Academic Listeners; Northwest Association of Private Colleges and Universities (NAPCU); Institute for Continued Learning (ICLWU); Visiting Summit Patrons.

WU Students, Faculty & Staff

Undergraduate Students (including TIUA)

Books: 6 weeks (Seniors: One Semester)
CDs: 6 weeks
Popular Reading Collection: 6 weeks
Child's Literature: 6 weeks
DVDs/VHS: 6 days
Summit (Long loan): 6 weeks, no renewal
Summit (Short Loan): 6 days, no renewal
ILL: Determined by the lending library

Graduate Students (AGSM/LAW)

Books: One Semester
Popular Reading Collection: 6 weeks
Child's Literature: 6 weeks
DVDs/VHS: 6 days
Summit (Long loan): 6 weeks, no renewal
Summit (Short Loan): 6 days, no renewal
ILL: Determined by the lending library

Faculty and Staff

Books: 6 months
CDs: 6 months
Popular Reading Collection: 6 weeks
Child's Literature: 6 weeks
DVDs/VHS: 6 weeks
Summit (Long loan): 6 weeks, no renewal
Summit (Short Loan): 6 days, no renewal
ILL: Determined by the lending library

Bon Appetit, Willamette Academy, non-cardholding community members

These patrons are welcome to view materials in the library and use the Public Computers (for 1 hour) or use the Public Wireless Network. If they would like to check-out materials, they are welcome to purchase a Community Borrower’s Card for $50.00 per calendar year.

Alumni & Community Borrowers

Willamette University Alumni

Requirements: Must have alum status within the Alumni Directory. Law alumni need to initiate alumni borrowing privileges through the Law Library. Expiration date is set for one year from current date, and can be renewed annually. Only 10 items checked-out at a time.

Books: 6 weeks
CDs: 6 days
Popular Reading Collection: 6 weeks
Child's Literature: 6 weeks
DVDs/VHS: 6 days
Summit (Long loan): Not Eligible
Summit (Short Loan): Not Eligible
ILL: Not Eligible

Community members

Requirements: Must verify status with valid Oregon Driver’s License. Must live in Salem or Keizer (or apply for special consideration if outside of Salem-Keizer), & be over 18 years of age. $50.00 non-refundable fee required (per year). Expiration date is set for one year from current date. Only 10 items checked-out at a time. Library account is blocked when total fines owed is more than $10.00.

Books: 6 weeks
CDs: 6 days
Popular Reading Collection: 6 weeks
Child's Literature: 6 weeks
DVDs/VHS: 6 days
Summit (Long loan): Not Eligible
Summit (Short Loan): Not Eligible
ILL: Not Eligible

Special Borrowers

Spouses, Domestic Partners & Dependents of WU Faculty, Administrators & Staff

Requirements: Must verify relationship with the current WU ID card of faculty, administrator, or staff member. The expiration date is set for one year from current date. Only 10 items checked-out at a time. The library account is blocked when total fines owed is more than $10.00.

Books: 6 weeks
CDs: 6 days
Popular Reading Collection: 6 weeks
Children's Literature: 6 weeks
DVDs/VHS: 6 days
Summit (Long loan): Not Eligible
Summit (Short Loan): Not Eligible
ILL: Not Eligible

Willamette Emeritus Faculty

Spouses and dependents of emeritus faculty do not qualify.

Books: 6 months
CDs: 6 months
Popular Reading Collection: 6 weeks
Children's Literature: 6 weeks
DVDs/VHS: 6 days
Summit (Long loan): 6 weeks, no renewal
Summit (Short Loan): 6 weeks no renewal
ILL: Determined by the lending library.

Willamette Affiliated/Associated Scholars

Spouses and dependents of affiliated/associated scholars do not qualify. The account will be blocked when total fine balance equals $50.00 or more. Only 50 items can be checked-out at a time.

Books: 6 weeks
CDs: 6 weeks
Popular Reading Collection: 6 weeks
Children's Literature: 6 weeks
DVDs/VHS: 6 days
Summit (Long loan): 6 weeks, no renewal
Summit (Short Loan): 6 weeks no renewal
ILL: Determined by the lending library.

Institute for Continued Learning & Willamette Academy Students

The expiration date is on the WU ID card.

Books: 6 weeks
CDs: 6 days
Popular Reading Collection: 6 weeks
Children's Literature: 6 weeks
DVDs/VHS: 6 days
Summit (Long loan): Not Eligible
Summit (Short Loan): Not Eligible
ILL: Not Eligible

Academic Listeners

Must present proof of registration from Registrar’s Office. Expiration date is set for the last day of classes for the current semester.

Books: 6 weeks
CDs: 6 days
Popular Reading Collection: 6 weeks
Children's Literature: 6 weeks
DVDs/VHS: 6 days
Summit (Long loan): Not Eligible
Summit (Short Loan): Not Eligible
ILL: Not Eligible

Summit Patrons

Patrons affiliated with a Summit institution can checkout Willamette materials that circulate through Summit, and request credentials to have Summit materials delivered to Willamette.

Books: 6 weeks
CDs: 6 days
Popular Reading Collection: 6 weeks
Children's Literature: 6 weeks
DVDs/VHS: 6 days
Summit (Long loan): 6 weeks, no rewnewals
Summit (Short Loan): 6 days, no renewals
ILL: Not Eligible

Northwest Association of Private Colleges and Universities (NAPCU)

Must present current ID card from a NAPCU institution. Expiration date is set for the last day of classes for the current semester.

Books: 6 weeks
CDs: 6 days
Popular Reading Collection: 6 weeks
Children's Literature: 6 weeks
DVDs/VHS: Not Eligible
Summit (Long loan): Not Eligible
Summit (Short Loan): Not Eligible
ILL: Not Eligible

Access Services Manager

Carol Drost's picture
Carol Drost
Contact:
Mark O. Hatfield Library
Willamette University
900 State Street
Salem, OR 97301

503-370-6715 (office)

Reference Desk hours
(Fall 2017):
Tuesday 11-1
Wednesday 11-1