Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Newspaper Articles
The databases listed below provide access to articles from a variety of newspapers and will help you locate mainstream newspaper articles.
Access World News
Full-text content of over 2,200 North American newspapers and more than 1,200 international newspapers, plus 300 wire services and over 200 broadcast news transcripts. Covers local, regional, and world issues, politics, government policies, sports, industries, cultural activities, schools, and the people and events in the community.
Provides selected full text articles from 143 U.S. and international newspapers.
New York Times (1980 - present)
Provides searchable full text.
Provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S.
A free site that "provides links to thousands of news sources covering every world's country and many of subjects. All listed sites are in English and provide free online content." Includes a section on US newspapers from around the country.
Available from Library Databases:
Full text access to the Oregonian, the newspaper of record for the state of Oregon. It is the largest newspaper in Oregon and the Pacific Northwest by circulation.
Coverage: 1861 - present
Provides access to Salem's newspaper, covering local news and events, Oregon state government. Full text from 2002 forward.
Available from Local Newspaper Websites: