Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The library’s collection of video recordings support and enrich the curriculum and include a core of classic motion pictures important to a liberal arts education. The library purchases representative films of many periods, genres, and countries in an effort to document the history of film. The library does not usually purchase current popular releases or feature films. The library also collects video recordings that support the curriculum and are directly related to classroom instruction. All of our videos are listed in the library catalog and can be checked out of the library for home use.
Streaming Video Provided by the Library
Academic Video Online (AVON)
AVON, a streaming media service, has more than 70,000 video titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. This resource is made available courtesy of the Mark O. Hatfield Library’s consortial relationship with Orbis Cascade Alliance and is a two-year pilot project.
Freely Available Streaming Video
Documentaries, films in the public domain, short films, television shows, etc. may be available through sites such as Internet Archive, YouTube, Vimeo, or others. Below are some possible resources:
"British Movietone is arguably the world’s greatest newsreel archive, spanning the period 1895 – 1986. Shot on 35mm film, this global archive contains many of the world’s enduring images and is rich in coverage of news events, celebrities, sports, music, social history, science, lifestyle and quirky."
This site "presents short length + feature length documentary / film content from independent film-makers and grassroot productions to a global audience, to not only promote the art of film-making, but above all to spread awareness and promote the collective contemplation over global/local challenges."
Digital Moving Images Collections
Several hundred early motion pictures viewable through this collection in the Library of Congress American Memory website.
Film Studies for Free
A crowdsourced list of open access streaming video collections.
From the National Film Board of Canada, free streaming of documentaries, animations, experimental films, fiction and interactive works from indigenous filmmakers.
Thousands of free films and videos on a variety of topics
Open Culture: Movies
"Watch 1,150 movies free online. Includes classics, indies, film noir, documentaries and other films, created by some of our greatest actors, actresses and directors."
Television @ Internet Archive
Collections of items recorded from television, including commercials, old television shows, government proceedings, and more.
According to their site, "Tubi is the leading free, premium, on demand video streaming app. We have the largest library of content with over 20,000 movies and television shows, the best streaming technology, and a personalization engine to recommend the best content for you." Be forewarned, there will be advertisements!