Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Warning: The Web holds a wide variety of information and misinformation, ranging from popular press coverage and advertisements to scholarly communications and grey literature. Be careful when using information from web sites, because it changes often which makes it hard to cite in a paper. The print equivalent is often preferred to electronic sources when citing because the print version is more reliable (it won't disappear as easily).
Always evaluate a web site before using it for research purposes.
Some criteria for evaluating web sites include (click here for more info):
You can always ask a librarian or your professor for an opinion about a specific site.
Primary Source Research Guides
Ness of Brodgar Excavations
Revealing a prehistoric complex in the heart of Neoletic Orkney. This is one of the archaeological sites that Willamette Professor, Scott Pike, and his students has worked on.
A commercial site with many links to useful information and a blog written by a retired archaeologist.
AcademicInfo's Anthropology gateway
Archaeology Data Service
The Archaeology Data Service, maintained by the University of York's Department of Archaeology, focuses on British archaeology.
ArchNet Virtual Library
The ArchNet Virtual Library supports an entire section devoted to archaeology.
AURANET Australian Rock Art Research Association site
Australian Rock Art Research Association site hosts archaeological information about Australian rock art research on the AURANET database.
ETANA (Electronic Tools & Ancient Near East Archives)
ETANA is a cooperative venture of a consortium of scholarly societies and universities to develop and maintain a comprehensive Internet site for the study of the ancient Near East (ANE).
The American Folklife Center lists ethnographic resources for folklore, anthropology, ethnomusicology and the humanities.
Oregon State Library
The collection includes resources for state employees, and also serves the general public as a depository of federal and Oregon state government documents. The library also collects in the area of Oregon law, Oregon history, and professional library development. The collection of the Willamette Valley Genealogical Society is available in the Reference Room.
Oregon Historic Photo Collection
Contains thousands of historic Oregon photographs dating from the mid 1800's, with a special focus on the City of Salem and Western Oregon communities.
Willamette Heritage Center Archives
The Willamette Heritage Center houses more than 13,000 objects and 200,000 photographic images. Our research library and archives contains more than 4,500 books and thousands of records.
Databases for Regional Research
Oregon Digital Newspaper Program (ODNP) (1860-1922)
The Oregon Digital Newspaper Program (ODNP) is an initiative to digitize historic Oregon newspaper content and make it freely available to the public through a keyword-searchable online database. The initial phase of the program will concentrate on newspapers published between 1860 and 1922.
A comprehensive and authoritative compendium of information about Oregon's history and culture, created through a partnership between Portland State University, the Oregon Council of Teachers of English, and the Oregon Historical Society.
Selectively indexes articles on local and regional topics from the following Oregon newspapers: The Oregonian, Salem Statesman Journal, Eugene Register Guard, Coos Bay World, Corvallis Gazette Times, Klamath Falls Herald & News, The LaGrande Observer, and Willamette Week.
Oregonian Index (1852-1987)
Provides an online index to articles in The Oregonian. The database covers 1852-1987 and contains more than 839,000 records.
Register Guard Index (1963 - present)
Maintained by the Eugene Public Library it provides citations to Register Guard articles related to local (Lane County, Oregon only) issues and people.
Ness of Brodgar Excavations
Archives & Special Collections
Willamette University Archives
It is the mission of Archives, Records and Special Collections to ensure that information documenting the University’s activities is preserved and organized in support of business, regulatory, archival and historic needs.
Sybil Westenhouse's Papers
The Sybil Westenhouse collection in the Willamette University Archives documents Westinghouse’s research on the history of Salem and Oregon.
American Memory Historical Collections
The home page for the American Memory Historical Collections from the Library of Congress. American Memory provides free access to historical images, maps, ...
Northwest Digital Archives
The Northwest Digital Archives (NWDA) provides enhanced access to archival and manuscript collections in Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Alaska, and Washington through a union database of Encoded Archival Description (EAD) finding aids.
Oregon State Archives
The Archives Division, established in 1947, houses and provides access to the permanently valuable records of Oregon government. Oldest documents at the archives include records of the provisional and territorial governments and the Oregon Constitution.
OSU Libraries Special Collections & Archives Research Center
This archive collects in five main areas: the History of OSU, the History of Science, Natural Resources, Multiculturalism in Oregon and Rare Books.
The Oregon Historical Society
The Research Library's collections encompass library and archival materials, including books, serials, newspapers, oral histories, manuscripts, government documents, genealogical and biographical material, photographs, film, and maps.
U of Oregon Special Collections & University Archives
Here you will find an unmatched and irreplaceable record of Northwest history and culture.