Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The U.S. Census Bureau is the leading source of statistical information about the nation’s people. Our population statistics come from decennial censuses, which count the entire U.S. population every ten years, along with several other surveys.
Medical & Health Data
Health insurance coverage for persons under 65 years, 1968–2007 (PDF)
(Pages 9-10 in the PDF) Health coverage data types, without health insurance, public or private health insurance.
Health & Nutrition of the U.S.: 2011 Statistical Abstracts of the United States
Includes health expenditures and insurance coverage, including Medicare and Medicaid, medical personnel, hospitals, nursing homes and other care facilities, injuries, diseases, disability status, nutritional intake of the population, and food consumption. Data is presented year by year, so you need to look at previous editions (the link to earlier editions is on the home page).
Food Availability by the ERS/USDA, 1909-date (Excel)
Red meat, poultry, & fish; Beef, veal, pork, lamb & mutton, & total red meats; poultry; fish & shellfish; eggs; dairy products; dairy (milk & cream); added fats & oils; peanuts & tree nuts; fruit & vegetables; fruits; vegetables; legumes; mushrooms; potatoes; grains; sugar & sweeteners; coffee, tea, cocoa, & spices; beverages; population
Medical & Health Sites
Center for Disease & Control
Contains information about the multiple Centers under its administration, guidelines, diseases and funding opportunities. Also available are Morbidity & Mortality Weekly Report, Emerging Infectious Diseases, the Combined Health Information Database, and the National Center for Health Statistics.
National Center for Health Statistics (CDC)
Your beginning place for health statistics. Many of the statistics are available at the national and state levels, and sometimes it is even more detailed--down to the county level.
Here are a few topics from this site: Diseases & Conditions (Asthma, Cholesterol, Diabetes, Heart Disease, Hypertension, Obesity); Health Care & Insurance (Ambulatory Care, ER Visits, Health Insurance Coverage, Hospital Use); Injuries; and Vital Statistics (Deaths, Births).
Food & Drug Administration (FDA)
Contains information about the agency itself, as well as links to food (ingredients, safety, labeling, nutrition, & packaging); drugs; medical devices; vaccines, blood & biologics; animals & veterinaries; cosmetics; radiation-emitting products; tobacco products; and much more.