Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Water War in the Klamath Basin by
Call Number: Law Library Treatises KF5590.K53 D67 2008
In the drought summer of 2001, a simmering conflict between agricultural and environmental interests in southern Oregon’s Upper Klamath Basin turned into a guerrilla war of protests, vandalism, and apocalyptic rhetoric when the federal Bureau of Reclamation shut down the headgates of the Klamath Project to conserve water needed by endangered species. This was the first time in U.S. history that the headgates of a federal irrigation project were closed—and irrigators denied the use of their state water rights—in favor of conservation. Farmers mounted a brief rebellion to keep the water flowing, but ultimately conceded defeat.
The American West as Living Space by
Call Number: 2d Floor Stacks F591.S823
In this short, succinct book, a collection of three lectures given in the 1980s, Stegner sums up the history, problems, and ever-so-bleak future of the American West. He paints the clearest and most inarguable case that has yet seen print against the overdevelopement of the West's water, land, and resources and, jarringly, recants his youthful appelation of the West as "the geography of hope.
Mentioned in The American West as Living Space
The Great Plains by
Call Number: F591.W35
Published in 1931, this early study demonstrated how aridity first force early settlers to adapt to the West's harsh climate.
Slouching Towards Bethlehem by
Call Number: PS3554.I33 S55
This consists of twenty works that reflect the atmosphere in America during the 1960s, especially in California.
Habits of the Heart: individualism and commitment in American life by
Call Number: E169.12.H29
Examines how individualism and civic responsibility contribute to and detract from America's common good.
Roughing It (Ebook, 1885) by
Mark Twain's humorous account of his six years in Nevada, San Francisco, and the Sandwich Islands is a patchwork of personal anecdotes and tall tales, many of them told in the ""vigorous new vernacular"" of the West.
On the Road by
Call Number: PS3521.E735 O5
Story of two restless young men in the late 1940s who cross and recross America, encountering parties, girls, drugs, loneliness and their own dreams along the way.
The Log of a Cowboy: a narrative of the old trail days by
Call Number: PS3501.D2152 L6
A groundbreaking depiction of the cowboys, drovers, thieves and cattle-town malcontents of the American West. Straightforwardly told, rich in detail, and laced with appealing campfire humor
Lonesome Dove: A Novel by
Call Number: PS3563.A319 L6
A love story and an epic of the frontier, Lonesome Dove is the grandest novel ever written about the last, defiant wilderness of America. It will make readers laugh, weep, dream and remember.
The Big Rock Candy Mountain by
Call Number: PS3537.T316 B5
Bo Mason and his wife and two boys live a transient life of poverty and despair; drifting from town to town, the violent, ruthless Bo seeks his fortune. Stegner has created a masterful, harrowing saga of a family trying to survive during the lean years of the early 20th century.
Big Sky, Fair Land: The Environmental Essays of A.B. Guthrie, Jr. by
Call Number: PS3513.U855 B52
This American novelist, screenwriter, historian, and literary historian won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction during 1950 for his novel The Way West. The author called himself "Bud" because he felt that Alfred Bertram was "a sissy name."
These American Lands: Parks, Wilderness, and the Public Lands by
Call Number: E160 .Z37
The first book ever published to give the history and propose the future of each unit of a federal trust that today accounts for approximately one-third of America's landmass, begins with the establishment of Yellowstone National Park in 1872.
Cadillac Desert by
Publication Date: 1986
This history of water rights in the American West focuses on the political corruption and intrigue, including the rivalry between the Bureau of Reclamation and the U.s. Army Corps of Engineers.
WU Libraries Catalogs
Find Books, Movies and More
Books in the Stacks (2nd Floor of Library)
Water : the epic struggle for wealth, power, and civilization by
Call Number: CB482 .S65
Far more than oil, the control of water wealth throughout history has been pivotal to the rise and fall of great powers, the achievements of civilization, the transformations of society's vital habitats, and the quality of ordinary daily lives. Today, freshwater scarcity is one of the twenty-first century's decisive, looming challenges, driving new political, economic, and environmental realities across the globe.
The Atlas of Water by
Call Number: G1046.C3 C5
The Atlas of Water is a compelling visual guide to the state of this life-sustaining resource. Using vivid graphics, maps, and charts, it explores the complex human interaction with water over time and across the world.
Water 4.0: the past, present, and future of the world's most vital resource by
Call Number: GB659.6 .S44
To make informed decisions about the future, we need to understand the three revolutions in urban water systems that have occurred over the past 2,500 years and the technologies that will remake the system.
The Big Thirst: The Secret Life and Turbulent Future of Water by
Call Number: HD1691 .F55
Rather than only three states of water--liquid, ice, and vapor--there is a fourth, "molecular water," fused into rock 400 miles deep in the Earth, and that's where most of the planet's water is found. Unlike most precious resources, water cannot be used up; it can always be made clean enough again to drink--indeed, water can be made so clean that it's toxic.
Oregon Water: an environmental history by
Call Number: TD224.O7 O87
This book provides a powerful history of Oregon's water history, the development and management of water resources.
The Ripple Effect: the fate of freshwater in the twenty-first century by
Call Number: TD345 .P77
Prud'homme traversed the country, and he takes readers into the heart of the daily dramas that will determine the future of this essential resource-from the alleged murder of a water scientist in a New Jersey purification plant, to the epic confrontation between salmon fishermen and copper miners in Alaska, to the poisoning of Wisconsin wells, to the epidemic of intersex fish in the Chesapeake Bay, to the wars over fracking for natural gas.
The Klamath River Basin: Hearing Before the Committee on Energy and Natural Resources, United States Senate... by
Call Number: Y 4.EN 2:S.HRG.113-069
Publication Date: 2013
The Ghost Map by
Call Number: RC133.G6 J64
An account of the worst cholera outbreak in Victorian London, and an exploration of how Dr. John Snow's solution revolutionized the way we think about disease in cities.
The Milagro beanfield war by
This is about the water rights of Mexican Americans. We have both the book and video in our collections.
Book: PS3564.I274 M5
DVD: PN1995.9.C55 M44 2005
A River Runs Through It and Other Stories by
This is about the relationship between a father and his two sons, bound together by love and fly fishing.
The Abolition of Man by
Call Number: LB41 .L665
A short book specifically about public education, but its central concerns are broadly political, religious, and philosophical.
A River, No More: The Colorado River and the West by
Call Number: F788 .F75 1981
The definitive history of the development of the Colorado River and the claims made on its waters, from its source in the Wyoming Rockies to the California and Arizona borders where, so saline it kills plants, it peters out just short of the Gulf of California. Ever increasing demands on the river to supply cities in the desert render this new edition all too timely.
A Sand County Almanac by
Book: QH81 .L56
VHS: QH81 .L55 1983
The book covers the monthly changes of the Wisconsin countryside, and informal pieces written by Leopold over a forty-year period as he traveled through the woodlands of Wisconsin, Iowa, Arizona, Sonora, Oregon, Manitoba, and elsewhere. It also addresses the philosophical issues involved in wildlife conservation.
The Oregon Water Handbook by
Call Number: On Display TD224.O7 B37 2006
Publication Date: 2006
This provides an in-depth examination of Oregon's water law and water issues providing a compelling perspective on a major environmental issue in the American West--the region's diminishing water supply.
Oxford Reference Online
This online resource is a collection of 100 well-known and trusted dictionaries and reference books combined into a single cross-searchable interface.
The electronic version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica. An excellent starting point for almost any topic of research, the Britannica offers both concise descriptions, and longer, more comprehensive articles on a wide variety of topics.
Search our Ebscohost collection of nearly 5,000 e-books. These are some water-related e-books:
Water, Race, and Disease by
Publication Date: 2004
Why, at the peak of the Jim Crow era early in the twentieth century, did life expectancy for African Americans rise dramatically? Using the qualitative and quantitative tools of demography, economics, geography, history, law, and medicine, Werner Troesken shows that the answers to these questions are closely connected. Arguing that in this case, racism led public officials not to deny services but to improve them -- the only way to "protect" white neighborhoods against waste from black neighborhoods was to install water and sewer systems in both -- Troesken shows that when cities and towns had working water and sewer systems, typhoid and other waterborne diseases were virtually eradicated.
Water Services for the Urban Poor by
Publication Date: 2005
Water is the essence of life and is now clearly recognized as a fundamental human right. The provision of safe drinking water and proper sanitation was highlighted for priority action by the Committee on Environment and Natural Resources Development at its third session, held at Bangkok from 16 to 18 October 2001.
Northwest Salmon Crisis by
Publication Date: 1999
An introduction to the problem of salmon extinction is followed by historical and contemporary views on issues such as Columbia River fisheries, artificial propagation of salmon, and fishing regulations.