Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
College Art Association
"Founded in 1911, the College Art Association promotes excellence in scholarship and teaching in the history and criticism of the visual arts and in creativity and technical skill in the teaching and practices of art.
Artsource is a gathering point for networked resources on Art and Architecture. The content is diverse and includes pointers to resources around the net as well as original materials submitted by librarians, artists, and art historians, etc. This site is intended to be selective, rather than comprehensive and was created by Mary Molinaro, former art librarian.
Art Deadlines List
List of competitions, contests, call for entries/papers, grants, scholarships, fellowships, jobs, internships, etc, in the arts or related areas.
A curated area for artists' projects, writings and resources; also includes a section for arts organizations and an arts commerce section.
The Getty Research Institute
Projects, programs, and databases from the Getty Museum.
This site "contains more than 2,500 Western signs, arranged into 54 groups according to their graphic characteristics. In 1,600 articles their histories, uses, and meanings are thoroughly discussed. The signs range from ideograms carved in mammoth teeth by Cro-Magnon men, to hobo signs and subway graffiti."
Museums and Galleries
The Art Guide
The Art Guide combines many of the country’s most successful art organizations, museums, local galleries and artists into one comprehensive internet resource.
Detroit Institute of Art
This institute is the fifth-largest fine arts museum in the United States with holdings of over 60,000 works. It is an attractive site with wonderful reproductions.
Uffizi Gallery Museum
This is the official Web Server of the Galleria degli Uffizi in Florence.
National Gallery of Art
"The National Gallery of Art houses one of the finest collections in the world illustrating major achievements in painting, sculpture, and graphic arts from the Middle Ages to the present." This site provides virtual tours of many of the NGA collections and a searchable index of data on thousands of objects in the collection.
National Museum of American Art (NMAA) of the Smithsonian Institution
Contains information and/or images for almost 1,000 works of art; also includes reports of upcoming and recent events.
National Museum of Women in the Arts
"The National Museum of Women in the Arts brings recognition to the achievements of women artists of all periods and nationalities by exhibiting, preserving, acquiring, and researching art by women and by educating the public concerning their accomplishments."
Portland Art Museum
This site provides information about the museum, exhibitions, collections, and educational opportunities.
Metropolitan Museum of Art's Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History Subject Index
The Timeline of Art History presents the Met’s collection via a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history.
Smithsonian Institution Home Page
Contains information about all the Smithsonian Museums as well as Smithsonian traveling exhibits, research centers and other features.
A virtual museum on the Internet, the WebMuseum is a collaborative work of its visitors.
Museumland, the WorldWide Portal to Museums & Cultural Heritage
A site for finding museums and exhibitions in more than 140 countries.
Hallie Ford Museum of Art
Located on the campus of Willamette University in Salem, Oregon, the Hallie Ford Museum of Art has a collection of over 6,000 culturally and historically diverse objects from ancient times to modern day. The museum supports the liberal arts curriculum of the University, and is a vital cultural resource for the City of Salem and beyond.
Humanities and Fine Arts Librarian
Subjects:Art & Art History
, Cinema Studies
, Latin American Studies
Classical Art Research Centre and the Beazley Archive
The Classical Art Research Centre leads and supports research on ancient art. At its heart is the Beazley Archive, which includes the world's largest collection of images of ancient figure-decorated pottery.
Perseus Digital Library
"Perseus is a continually growing digital library of resources for studying the ancient world." It includes ancient texts and translations, philological tools, maps, art catalogs, and essays on such topics as vase paintings. This important resource for classical studies originated at Tufts University.
ROMARCH Roman Art and Archaeology
This site, sponsored by the Department of Classics and the Interdepartmental Program in Classical Art and Archaeology (IPCAA) at the University of Michigan, contains a variety of information on the art and archaeology of Italy and the Roman provinces from 1000 BC to AD 700.