Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bad Bug Book: Introduction
Basic facts on foodborne pathogenic microorganisms & natural toxins. Covers: PATHOGENIC BACTERIA, ENTEROVIRULENT ESCHERICHIA COLI GROUP, PARASITIC PROTOZOA and WORMS, VIRUSES, NATURAL TOXINS, and more.
Calorie Counter Database
Calorie Count doesn't prescribe a particular diet. Eat any foods you want as long as you burn calories. It includes information to calories in both foods & activities.
Dietary Supplement Regulation: US Food & Drug Administration (FDA)
The Food & Drug Administration (FDA) regulates dietary supplements under a different set of regulations than those covering "conventional" foods and drug products. This resource includes general info on supplements, sales information, guidelines, warnings and safety information, industry information & regulations, and a questions & answers section.
Food & Nutrition Information Center (USDA)
Provides access to resources databases and other information related to nutrition, including: Dietary Guidelines, the Food Guide Pyramid, IBIDS (International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements database) and the USDA Nutrient Database for Standard Reference.
International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS) Database
This resource indexes citations & abstracts from published, international, and scientific literature on dietary supplements. IBIDS is a collaboration between two US government agencies: the Office of Dietary Supplements of the National Institutes of Health, and the Food & Nutrition Information Center (FNIC).
National Nutrient Database (USDA)
Search the nutritional content of over 5,900 foods. The USDA compiles these national standards for food nutrients.
USDA Choose MyPlate
United States Department of Agriculture food nutrition recommendations Choose My Plate
Food Regulation: US Food & Drug Administration (FDA)
Contains a ton of food safety information: National Food Safety Initiative, biotechnology, food additives, labeling, pre-market approval, Foodborne Illness and Bad Bug Book (Foodborne Pathogenic Microorganisms and Natural Toxins), pesticides & chemical contaminants, and the Seafood and Regulatory Fish Encyclopedia (Fish Images).
The federal government uses this site to better communicate food safety information to the public: info about food recalls, automatic alerts (via email or social networks), keeping food safe, food poisoning, inspection & compliance, meat, poultry, & fish, eggs & dairy, fruits & vegetables.