Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Latest Fad Diets
Apple Cider Vinegar Diet
Amanda is studying nutrition sciences at Cornell, and for a required research project Amanda thought it would be perfect to use university funds to find out how to 'hack' her weight loss. According to Amanda, "the most expensive piece of it all was actually finding what worked. But the actual solution only cost about $5." Image source: Everydayhealth.com
South Beach Diet
Named after the ritzy beach in Miami, the South Beach Diet aims to put followers on a track to sustainable weight
Though the Weight Watchers system has evolved over the years, this popular diet's tenets have remained the same: Eat a balanced diet, eat in moderation, and eat what you want.
Fish, like salmon, is a staple in the Mediterranean diet.
Celebs like Jennifer Aniston may come to mind when you think of the Zone diet, which maintains that changing the balance of the foods you eat (mainly, adding protein to balance the carbs at every meal or snack) will help you lose weight, reset your metabolism, and ward off chronic health conditions like heart disease and diabetes.
On the Atkins Diet, you'll need to cut your carb intake and fuel up with nonstarchy veggies, like asparagus, and higher-fat foods, such as meat.
The Paleo Diet
In its purest form, the Paleolithic diet — more commonly known as the paleo diet or the "caveman diet" — allows only those foods that humans ate when we first roamed the planet, half a million years ago: Fish, lean meats, fruit, nonstarchy veggies, and nuts are in; starchy veggies, dairy foods, grains, and processed foods are out.
Volumetrics proposes that foods that contain more water, such as fruits and vegetables, are healthier because they have lower energy density than sugary and fatty foods. Less a fad diet than an approach to eating, Volumetrics is backed by sound research and strongly promotes eating to feel full.
The Raw Food Diet
Advocates of the raw food diet believe that cooking food and thereby breaking down its enzymes destroys many of its nutritional benefits. Restricting food to raw items or food that is cooked or heated to no more than 118° Fahrenheit, this fad diet plan allows you to eat as much as you want, as often as you want as long as it's raw and vegetarian.
With this fad diet plan, the meals are premade and engineered to deliver only a certain amount of calories per day based on your age and gender. While weight loss success is certainly possible — it's an easy, popular diet plan to stick to because everything is done for you, and it's customizable — a major drawback is the cost of the packaged meals.
The Macrobiotic Diet
The macrobiotic diet used to be one of the most popular diets years back. It promotes whole foods over processed foods and encourages meditation and slowing down your lifestyle along with your eating habits.
Nutrition Web Sites
List of Fad Diets (Wikipedia)
This contains a list of 33 well-known and lesser-known fad diets, and provides links for additional information in addition to the sources of information. The linked pages often include the history of the diet, adverse effects, and evidence-based analysis.
Calorie Counter (American Cancer Society)
This easy to use tool asks a few questions and spits out a suggested caloric intake based on your body size, gender, and general physical activity level. It also lists how to safely and fairly easily loose 1 lbs a week.
Exercise Counts Calculator
Select from 24 common activities, including strolling, sitting, walking, office work, as well as more physical activities such as swimming or basketball.
Look up the food you eat and how many calories it contains. It includes specific stores and vendors for most foods, providing a very accurate picture of your caloric intake.
Aging Well: Eating Right for Longevity
WebMD asks the question, "Does aging equal illness? And what kinds of things should you eat to age well."
This site covers a host of topics including:
Anti-Aging Diet, Omega-3s, Online Pharmacies, Caregiver Stress, Protein,
Sexuality, Memory, Vitamins, Longevity, Insomnia, Wrinkles, Milestone Medical Tests, and more.
National Institute on Aging
NIA, one of the 27 Institutes and Centers of NIH, leads a broad scientific effort to understand the nature of aging and to extend the healthy, active years of life.
Center for Disease Control
The materials found on this site are designed to assist health professionals in learning about and engaging in activities of CDC's Healthy Aging Program and to promote independence and wellbeing.
A-Z Health Topics Index
This is very useful for quickly tracking down specific issue and supporting information ranging from abuse and biology of aging to medication, statistics, and vitamins.
This page includes a host of recent biological resources and research, and data/informatics resources.
Data & Statistics
Provides easy access to most current CDC data on key indicators of health and well-being, screenings and vaccinations, and mental health among older adults. Includes data from the newly-released The State of Aging and Health in America 2013 Adobe PDF file [PDF 4.7M] report, as well as other hard-copy reports from the Healthy Aging Program.