Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How To Find Articles
If an article is not available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button.
This will check if we have access through a different database and our print collection.
If we do not have access, you will be given an option to order it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Fill out the form and click "Submit." It takes about 2 business days to get articles.
Finding Newspaper Articles
The databases listed below provide access to articles from a variety of newspapers and will help you locate mainstream newspaper articles.
Access World News
Full-text content of over 2,200 North American newspapers and more than 1,200 international newspapers, plus 300 wire services and over 200 broadcast news transcripts. Covers local, regional, and world issues, politics, government policies, sports, industries, cultural activities, schools, and the people and events in the community.
Provides selected full text articles from 143 U.S. and international newspapers.
Enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.
A free site that "provides links to thousands of news sources covering every world's country and many of subjects. All listed sites are in English and provide free online content." Includes a section on US newspapers from around the country.
New York Times (1980 - present)
Provides searchable full text.
Oregonian (Newsbank) (1987 to present)
The Oregonian is the major daily newspaper in Portland, Oregon, founded by Thomas J. Dryer in 1850. It is the largest newspaper in Oregon and the Pacific Northwest by circulation.
Other Potentially Useful Databases
Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for more than 4,600 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. It offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 8,500 journals. Over 3,900 of the full text journals are peer reviewed.
ATLA Religion Database
Contains citations from journal articles, essays within multi-author works, book reviews, and doctoral dissertations focusing on religion and theology, from around the world.
Business Source Premier
Provides full text from nearly 3,300 journals covering business, management, economics, banking, finance, accounting and much more.
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.
Provides abstracts and indexing of over 900 education journals.
Ethnic NewsWatch Complete
Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints from the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
Gender Studies Database
This database combines the Womens Studies International and the Mens Studies databases to provide coverage of gender related scholarship.
Provides full text from nearly 270 periodicals covering nutrition, exercise, medical self-care, drugs and alcohol, and much more. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 430 periodicals.
Contains full text for more than 260 of the worlds most respected, scholarly law journals. The Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Services)
Offers access to topics with an international focus, including public policy, public administration, government relations, governmental effectiveness, nonprofit organizations, political structures and international relations. Provides selective coverage of magazine and journal articles, books, book reviews, conference proceedings, government documents, and statistical directories.
ProQuest Congressional offers access to congressional publications dealing with the wide variety of topics addressed by Congress.
ProQuest Political Science
Provides articles on international relations and political science.
Abstracts and indexes the professional and academic literature in the field of psychology and related disciplines. Covers more than 1,300 journals in more than 30 languages. Also includes references to book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports.
Scopus is a major citation database for over 20,000 peer-reviewed journals. It also covers conference proceedings, select book series and trade journals, plus U.S./international patents. It features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize the world's research in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities.
Sociological Abstracts (Soc. Abs.)
Soc. Abs. provides citations to articles in over 3000 journals covering sociology, social work and other social sciences.
Primary Anthropology Databases
Brings together into one resource Anthropological Literature from Harvard University & Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Offers indexing of core periodicals, as well as lesser-known journals, from the late 19th century to today. Provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological & linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and more.
Provides 100 years of anthropological material online to scholars and the public. Includes a complete electronic archive of all AAA journals, access to archival content housed at JSTOR, and current issues for 15 of the most critical AAA peer-reviewed publications.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).
Databases Focused on Contemporary Issues
Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Opposing ViewPoints Resource Center
A one-stop source for information on current social issues. Drawing on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints, OVRC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.