Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Archives & Deep Web Resources
Pacific Northwest Artists Archive
A collaborative project of the Willamette University Archives and the Hallie Ford Museum of Art, the Pacific Northwest Artists Archive is a collection of materials related to the careers of artists who are or were active in Oregon and Washington. Developed as a complement to the permanent collection of the Hallie Ford Museum and housed at Willamette University’s Hatfield Library, the Archive contains artists’ correspondence, exhibition catalogues and brochures, press clippings, photographs, slides of artworks, and other materials related to the life work of particular artists.
Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies. Subject strengths include: History, Humanities, Art & Architecture, Social Sciences, and Genealogy.
Databases for Historical Research
American Periodical Series Online
Provides indexing and full text to over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900. Included are special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children and women magazines, and other historically-significant periodicals.
Historical New York Times
Provides full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Readers Guide Retrospective (1890 - 1982)
Contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
America History and Life
Provides access to scholarly literature on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations.
Provides access to international scholarly literature on the history of the world, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, and dissertations.
Salem & Willamette Sources
1875 - May 2017. Explore history by searching the pages of Willamette's longest running paper.
Oregon Historic Photograph Collections
The history of Oregon preserved in six collections of photographs of people, places, and events that provide snapshots of the states history from 1840 to more recent times. The collections are statewide but with special emphasis on Salem and other Willamette Valley communities.