Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How To Find Articles
- Use the databases listed on this page to find articles.
- If it isn't available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button. We might have e-access another way or have it in print.
- If we don't
have it, order the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
If you're off-campus, you will be prompted for your Willamette username & password.
Finding a Newspaper Article
The databases listed below provide access to articles from a variety of newspapers.
Access World News
Full-text content of over 2,200 North American newspapers and more than 1,200 international newspapers, plus 300 wire services and over 200 broadcast news transcripts.
Provides selected full text articles from 143 U.S. and international newspapers.
New York Times (1980 - present)
Provides searchable full text.
Oregonian (Newsbank) (1987 to present)
The Oregonian is the major daily newspaper in Portland, Oregon, founded by Thomas J. Dryer in 1850.
A full-text newspaper database which allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields. Includes over 1000 papers, both domestic and international.
Primary Sociology Database
Often referred to as Soc Abs, Sociological Abstracts is the best place to go when looking for journal articles dealing with sociology topics. Provides citations to articles in over 3000 journals covering sociology, social work and other social sciences. Includes citations to book chapters, dissertations, conference proceedings, etc.
This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.
Other Useful Databases
Periodicals/journals are important sources for current news and information about recent research. Databases are often the best way to locate these articles.
Academic Search Premier
Offers mostly full text articles from thousands of social sciences, humanities, science and arts journals.
Communications and Mass Media Complete (CMMC)
CMMC provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.
Gender Studies Database
This database combines the Womens Studies International and the Mens Studies databases to provide coverage of gender related scholarship.
Provides full text from nearly 270 periodicals covering nutrition, exercise, medical self-care, drugs and alcohol, and much more. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 430 periodicals.
Contains full text for more than 260 of the worlds most respected, scholarly law journals. The Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
The NCJRS Abstracts Database contains more than 220,000 collection records for criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Virtual Library collection.
Offers access to topics with an international focus, including public policy, public administration, government relations, governmental effectiveness, nonprofit organizations, political structures and international relations.
ProQuest Criminal Justice
Provides journal articles on criminology and criminal justice.
Abstracts and indexes the professional and academic literature in the field of psychology and related disciplines. Covers more than 1,300 journals in more than 30 languages.
All Databases at Willamette
Databases are how articles are indexed; indexes primarily tell you that articles exist opposed to providing the full-text of articles. These databases cover literature that is related to this subject area. The full list of WU database is available by alphabetic list or subject. There are also guides available to walk you through how to find materials.
Databases Focused on Contemporary Issues
Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Opposing ViewPoints Resource Center
A one-stop source for information on current social issues. Drawing on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints, OVRC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.