Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Industry insight, Company data, Trade magazines for AGSM
These database include significant quantities of articles that are not peer reviewed!
ABI Inform Collection (from Proquest)
Very similar purpose as Business Source Premier, which is a rival of ABI Inform Complete.. This database provides full text coverage from a combination of over 3,000 scholarly journals, business news magazines & trade magazines. ABI also Includes "Country Data" from the Economist Intelligence Unit, as well as "Country Forecasts" , "Country Finance", "World Commodity" as well as over 300 industry reports from outside research firms, such as Business Monitor International. NOTE: about 25% of full text coverage is subject to a publisher mandated "embargo" between 6 months and 2 years.
Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection (from Proquest)
Coverage of scholarly & academic journals, as well as practitioner oriented publications and industry/trade magazines. Oriented more towards large sized businesses & financial service providers; auditing & accounting firms; corporate tax consultants, and the ever changing regulatory landscape of tax law, accounting & financial disclosure. Primary focus is the USA with some global coverage.
Asia & European Business Collection (from Proquest)
Provides access to a mixture of Asia & Europe focused business publications that include scholarly, professional, practitioner interests, as well as regional business news.
Business Insights - Global (from Gale/Cengage)
Combines business & industry directories to display company specific information that is searchable by: Company name; Stock ticker symbol; SIC/NAICS code; Brand name, or Product description. Also a great starting point when looking for Market shares or Rankings within an industry. Provides some coverage of academic journal articles. If you need academic research journal articles, then you should be using the Business Source Premier database.
Business Market Research Collection (from Proquest)
This combines what used to be 3 separate databases: Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.programs. Provides analysis of economic and political developments, as well as questioning policies around the world.
Business Source Premier (from Ebsco)
Provides full text access to more than 3,300 academic journals & trade magazines. It is particularly strong in the areas of marketing, management, MIS, accounting, finance, economics, and systems. This database also provides access to large numbers of Product reviews, Industry profiles, Market research reports, and SWOT analyses. Additional full text non-journal content includes country reports, company profiles and several hundred reference books. NOTE: about 32% of full text coverage is subject to a publisher mandated "embargo" between 6 months and 5 years.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs
Provides access to a mixture of Canada focused business publications that include scholarly, professional, practitioner interests, as well as regional business news.
Career and Technical Education (from Proquest)
Provides vocational information and career search resources.
Computing Database (from Proquest)
Provides full text access to over 350 journals & magazines focusing on all aspects of computer & computing, including artificial intelligence, hardware, software, games, security and management. Includes scholarly & practitioner oriented publications.
Culinary Arts Collection (from Gale/Cengage)
Trade magazines about food preparation for amateur cooks & professional chefs, ranging from small businesses, to catering, fast food, sit down restaurants, and large food processing operations. Coverage includes searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information. Some content comes from peer reviewed journals.
Health Management (from Proquest)
Focuses on the wide variety of of health care management including hospitals, medical insurance, HMOs and doctor's offices. Primary focus in the USA, with some global coverage. Includes a mixture of scholarly, professional, practitioner oriented publications.
Hoover's Directory & Database
Provides comprehensive company, industry, and market intelligence for US corporations of all sizes, including who are their major competitors, and estimates of $ revenues and # of employees.
Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection (from Gale/Cengage)
Primarily trade magazines and some academic journals, focusing on businesses of all sizes in the hospitality, leisure and tourism industries. Coverage includes historical and current state of affairs of these industries, as well as cultural and economic aspects. Some content comes from peer reviewed journals.
Comprehensive company information for active & inactive corporations in US and other countries. Standard & customized reports with up to 30 years of stock market trading & financial data. Also has PDFs of annual reports to shareholders, SEC filings, and identifying major competitors.
Small Business Resource Center (from Gale/Cengage)
Resources on "How to start, finance or manage your small business". Also includes samples of business plans, how to guides, trade magazines and some academic journals. If you clearly need academic research journal articles about entrepreneurship & small businesses, then you should be using the Business Source Premier database.
Telecommunications Database (from Proquest)
Provides full text access to over 110 journals & magazines focusing on all aspects of telecommunications, including radio, television, wireless, Internet, management and WAP. Includes scholarly & practitioner oriented publications.
Government agencies, information, laws & regulations
Many of these government resources do not show an author's name as a single person, or group of people. In those cases, you need to name the government agency or committee that is responsible for producing each document. There can be several groups associated with a single document. Sometimes a document cover only shows an agency's abbreivation or acronym, while further inside the report, the complete lengthy name & governmental hierarchy of the agency is revealed.
You need to be very careful in understanding the proper way to cite these
underlying reports & documents.
GPO Monthly Catalog
Indexes all the federal government publications distributed through the Federal Depository Library Program. Also provides holdings information for the Hatfield Library and other depository libraries.
Military & Government Collection (from Ebsco)
Full text access to current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Includes a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. Provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 400 journals and periodicals, and indexing & abstracts for more than 500 titles.
U.S. Congressional Documents Collection (1789 to present)
Offers access to the bound and daily versions of Congressional Record, its three predecessor titles, and other important congressional material.
U.S. Presidential Library (1897 to present)
Provides full text access to such titles as Messages and Papers of the Presidents; Public Papers of the Presidents; CFR Title 3 (Presidents); Weekly Compilation of the Presidential Documents, and other documents relating to U.S. presidents.
Public administration and Public policy
PAIS International for Public policy & Public administration
Indexing & abstracting for public policy, public administration, government relations, governmental effectiveness, nonprofit organizations, political structures and international relations. Provides selective coverage of magazine and journal articles, books, book reviews, conference proceedings, government documents, and statistical directories.
Economics - journals, working papers, current data
Please note that "working papers" are frequently found in Economics publications, but they are not considered to be on par with articles found in peer reviewed journals. Journal articles have passed through more rigorous editorial reviews than "working papers".
EconLit with full text (from Ebsco)
Provides access to 400 scholarly journals of economics, business economics, social economics, income distributions, and monetary controls from around the world. Covers both theoretical and applied aspects of economics and allied disciplines from the social sciences. Also includes books & book reviews, essays from multi-author books, working papers, and dissertations.
There are no peer reviewed articles found in this group of newspaper resources!
Portland Business Journal
Coverage of business news in the Metro Portland area which includes Vancouver, Hillsboro, Beaverton, Gresham and Wilsonville. Provides some coverage of Salem.
Finding Articles from News Sources
Guide to using the appropriate resource, depending on your specific needs for News Sources
Other journal databases in the Social Sciences
Academic Search Premier (from Ebsco)
Full-text. This is a good starting place if you need full-text articles--this is an interdisciplinary database that can limit results to full-text and peer-review (scholarly literature). This database does NOT have coverage of Business, nor of Economics!
Communications & Mass Media Complete (from Ebsco)
Proides full text coverage of academic journals in communciations, mass media, rhetoric, and applied linguistics.
Gale Academic Onefile
Full-text. A source for peer-reviewed, primarily full-text articles from across many areas of study including the social sciences.
Search scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed & non-peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (from Ebsco)
Quick easy to use access to academic research from 500+ jounals of Psychology. When PDF or Full Text options are not listed, you can obtain the article by using the "Find It @ Willamette" button. For difficult to find Psychology topics, you should use the PsycInfo database.
PsycInfo (from American Psychological Association)
Abstracts and indexes the professional and academic literature of Psychology and related disciplines. Covers more than 1,300 journals. Also includes references to book chapters, books, and dissertations. You can limit results to just journal articles. When PDF versions of articles are not listed, you can obtain the article by using the "Find It @ Willamette" button.
Finding databases in other Subjects
Gary Klein (librarian for AGSM)
, Civic Communication & Media
, Politics, Policy, Law and Ethics
, Rhetoric & Media Studies