Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding a Newspaper Article
The databases listed below provide access to articles from a variety of newspapers and will help you locate a mainstream newspaper article.
Access World News
Full-text content of over 2,200 North American newspapers and more than 1,200 international newspapers, plus 300 wire services and over 200 broadcast news transcripts. Covers local, regional, and world issues, politics, government policies, sports, industries, cultural activities, schools, and the people and events in the community.
Provides selected full text articles from 143 U.S. and international newspapers.
New York Times (1980 - present)
Provides searchable full text.
Oregonian (Newsbank) (1987 to present)
The Oregonian is the major daily newspaper in Portland, Oregon, founded by Thomas J. Dryer in 1850. It is the largest newspaper in Oregon and the Pacific Northwest by circulation.
Provides articles from worldwide news sources.
Wall Street Journal
Provides full text coverage of the worlds leading financial newspaper.
Finding Magazine Articles
The databases listed below provide access to articles from a variety of popular and academic publications. These are a good resource for finding magazine articles.
Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for more than 4,600 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. It offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 8,500 journals.
MasterFILE Premier provides full text for magazines, reference books, and primary source documents.
Includes full text coverage of 1000 of the most searched magazines across the Gale databases. Topics covered include sports, science, health and current events.
ProQuest Research Library
Provides multidisciplinary subject coverage from scholarly, trade, and consumer publications including magazines.
Other Potentially Useful Databases
How To Find Articles
- Use the databases listed on this page to find articles.
- If it isn't available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button. We might have e-access another way or have it in print.
- If we don't
have it, order the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
If you're off-campus, you will be prompted for your Willamette username & password.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).
All Databases at Willamette
Databases are how articles are indexed; indexes primarily tell you that articles exist opposed to providing the full-text of articles. These databases cover literature that is related to this subject area. The full list of WU database is available by alphabetic list or subject. There are also guides available to walk you through how to find materials.