Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Authoritative Reference Sources vs Wikipedia
Wikipedia is a great resource for getting general info about something, but because anyone can contribute or change its content it is considered unreliable. College faculty typically do not consider Wikipedia a credible information source.
Instead, use the library's print or electronic encyclopedias, dictionaries, or other reference books to backup the basic information of your research paper. These resources have gone through an editorial process to check for accuracy. To the right and below are some resources that may be of use.
Encyclopedias and More
Oxford Reference Online
100 well-known and trusted dictionaries and reference books combined into a single cross-searchable web database.
The electronic version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica. An excellent starting point for almost any topic of research, the Britannica offers both concise descriptions, and longer, more comprehensive articles on a wide variety of topics.
Oxford English Dictionary
The online version of the classic dictionary. An unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cook books.
The Encyclopedia of American Prisons by
Call Number: Ref HV9471 .S54 2003
Publication Date: 2002-12-01
Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant Behaviour by
Call Number: Ref HV6017 .E53 2001
Publication Date: 2000-11-10
Encyclopedia of Law and Society by
Call Number: Ref K583 .E53 2007
Publication Date: 2007-07-10
Crime in the United States
Call Number: Ref HV6787 .A32 2010
Publication Date: 2010-12-30