Wikipedia is a great resource for getting general info about something, but because anyone can contribute or change its content it is considered unreliable. College faculty typically do not consider Wikipedia a credible information source.
Instead, use the library's print or electronic encyclopedias, dictionaries, or other reference books to backup the basic information of your research paper. These resources have gone through an editorial process to check for accuracy. To the right and below are some resources that may be of use.
The History of Spain through Cinema by Below are key reference books that provide a general overview of a topic or help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data. These sources often include references and lists of further readings.
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Encyclopedia of World Sport
The Atlas of European Values
Encyclopedia of Gay Histories and Cultures
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Queer Culture
Historical Dictionary of Spanish Cinema
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Films
Images in the Dark: An Encyclopedia of Gay and Lesbian Film and Video
Encyclopedia of Religion and Film
Encyclopedia of Global HealthYou can set up an individual research consultation with a subject librarian for research help. Here are a few other things that we can do for you:
Library Hours
Mon-Thur 7:45 a.m. -- 2 a.m.
Friday 7:45 a.m. -- 9 p.m.
Saturday 11 a.m -- 6 p.m.
Sunday 10 a.m. -- 2 a.m.
Reference Hours
Mon-Wed 10 a.m. -- 5 p.m. / 6 p.m. -- 9 p.m.
Thursday 10 a.m. -- 5 p.m.
Friday 1 p.m. -- 4 p.m
Sat-Sun (Closed)
Contact library@willamette.edu for a research consultation.
Archives Hours
Contact archives@willamette.edu for an appointment.
Appointments available:
Mon - Fri 9 a.m. -- 12 p.m. / 1 p.m. -- 4 p.m.
Note: The library is closed to the general public at 9 p.m. Sunday through Thursday and at 5 p.m. Friday, Saturday and holidays. The library remains open to students, faculty, and staff with current Willamette ID.
