Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Predictably Irrational by
Call Number: Coming soon!
Publication Date: 2010
Why do smart people make irrational decisions every day? The answers will surprise you. 'Predictably Irrational' is an intriguing, witty and utterly original look at why we all make illogical decisions.
Publication Date: 2013
Call number: Coming soon!
The authors introduce a four-step process designed to counteract the biases that inevitably creep into the decision-making process.
Oxford Reference Online
This online resource is a collection of 100 well-known and trusted dictionaries and reference books combined into a single cross-searchable interface.
The electronic version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica. An excellent starting point for almost any topic of research, the Britannica offers both concise descriptions, and longer, more comprehensive articles on a wide variety of topics.
E-Books on Decision Making Theories
(E-book) Handbook of Decision Making by
Publication Date: 2010
is a vital reference text for all students and professionals of management, organization and decision making. The handbook offers a wide range of theoretical and empirical approaches to the understanding of organizational and strategic decisions. Contributors are internationally known experts drawn from North America, Canada and Europe who have spent many years in the study of decision making, and decision making relevant topics.
Judgment and Decision Making by
Call Number: Summit Only
Behavioral decision research offers a distinctive approach to understanding and improving decision making. It combines theory and method from multiple disciples (psychology, economics, statistics, decision theory, management science). It employs both empirical methods, to study how decisions are actually made, and analytical ones, to study how decisions should be made and how consequential imperfections are. This book brings together key publications, selected to represent the major topics and approaches used in the field.
WU Libraries Catalogs
Find Books, Movies and More
Short Stories, Class Readings
"His Mother's House" in the book Lost in the City by
Call Number: 2d Floor Stacks PS3560.O4813 L67 2005
Publication Date: 2004
"The Beggar Maid" in the book Selected Stories by
Call Number: 2d Floor Stacks PR9199.3.M8 A6 1996
Publication Date: 1996
"Good Country People" in the book Flannery O'Connor: an introduction by
Call Number: 2d Floor Stacks PS3565.C57 Z82 1991
Publication Date: 1991
"The Little Brown Girl" in the book The Southern Woman by
Call Number: 2d Floor Stacks PS3537.P4454 S68 2001
Publication Date: 2001
"Against the Odds" in the book William Trevor's Selected Stories by
Call Number: 2d Floor Stacks PR6070.R4 A6 2010
Publication Date: 2010
"The Benefit of the Doubt" in the book Our Story Begins: New and Selected Stories by
Call Number: 2d Floor Stacks PS3573.O558 O97 2008
Publication Date: 2008
"Neighbors" in the book Will You Please Be Quiet, Please? by
Call Number: 2d Floor Stacks PS3553.A7894 W5
Publication Date: 1978
"The Darling" in the book The Essential Tales of Chekhov by
Call Number: 2d Floor Stacks PG3456.A15 G3 1998
Publication Date: 1998
"Break It Down" in the book The Collected Stories of Lydia Davis by
Call Number: 2d Floor Stacks PS3554.A9356 A6 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Related Short Stories and Books in the Library Stacks
These stories feature a character with an important decision to make. Often we’re shown their options, and given some insight into their decision-making process.
Exile and the Kingdom (The Guest) by
Call Number: 2d Floor Stacks PQ2605.A3734 E913 1958
This is a collection of some of Albert Camus' best short stories, and the underlying theme in each is exile, whether it be spiritual, physical, or mental. The Guest is the tale of the school teacher put in care of an Arab prisoner to the missionary who finds himself worshiping a cruel graven image. Each story pits a man in a pivotal moment in time which defines his future.
Dubliners (Eveline) by
Call Number: 2d Floor Stacks PR6019.O9 D8
In this collection of James Joyce short stories is Eveline. It is about a nineteen-year-old woman is going to leave home with a sailor. She thinks about her life, mulling over the decision she has to make.
The Scribner Treasury: 22 Classic Tales (The Tiger, or the Lady) by
Call Number: 2d Floor Stacks PN3321.S38 1953
This is an anthology of 22 classic American and English short stories, including Frank Stockton's The Lady, or the Tiger. A king has a peculiar method of putting criminals on trial. They’re placed in an arena and allowed to pick between two doors. Behind one is a beautiful woman; behind the other, a hungry tiger.
Growing up Latino (The Daughter of Invention) by
Call Number: 2d Floor Stacks PS647.H58 G76 1993
All 26 essays and stories in this anthology of contemporary Hispanic American writing focus on coming of age within two conflicting cultures. The Daughter of Invention by Julia Alvarez is about Laura, a Dominican-American mother, who sketches inventions at night before going to bed. Her daughter, Yolanda, writes poetry and is chosen to write a speech that she will read to the class. The family is adjusting to American culture.
The Gallup poll
Call Number: Reference Collection HN90.P8 G35
This is actually factual data and not stories, so if you're looking for opinion polls this should be your first stop. The Gallup Poll consists of annual social surveys posed to thousands of U.S. citizens that gauge the general public's opinion on specific topics broadly ranging from politics, to religion, social issues, etc. This is a great resource to find the general pulse of American opinion on contemporary issues.
Games and Decision Making by
Call Number: 2nd Floor Stacks, QA269 .A44 2011
Publication Date: 2011
This book is a unique blend of decision theory and game theory. From classical optimization to modern game theory, authors Charalambos D. Aliprantis and Subir K. Chakrabarti show the importance of mathematical knowledge in understanding and analyzing issues in decision making. Through an imaginative selection of topics, Aliprantis and Chakrabarti treat decision and game theory as part of one body of knowledge. They move from problems involving the individual decision-maker to progressively more complex problems such as sequential rationality, auctions, and bargaining.
Laws of the Game: How the Principles of Nature Govern Chance by
Call Number: On Display Q175 .E3713 1993
Publication Date: 1993
Using game theory and examples of actual games people play today, Nobel laureate Manfred Eigen and Ruthild Winkler show how the elements of chance and rules underlie all that happens in the universe, from genetic behavior through economic growth to the composition of music.
Call Number: AV Videos PR2807 .A23
Hamlet, a prince of medieval-era Denmark, senses treachery behind his royal father's death. His mother is all too dangerously entangled in that treachery. This film portrays Shakespeare's immortal tale of high adventure and evil deeds.
Star wars III: Revenge of the Sith (2005)
Call Number: AV Videos PN1995.9.S26 S86 v.3
Torn between loyalty to his mentor, Obi-Wan Kenobi, and the seductive powers of the Sith, Anakin Skywalker ultimately turns his back on the Jedi. This begins his complete journey to the dark side and his transformation into Darth Vader.
Erin Brockovich (1999)
Call Number: AV Videos PN1995.9.B55 E74 2000
Erin Brockovich is a feisty young mother who convinces attorney Ed Masry to hire her and promptly stumbles upon a monumental law case against a giant corporation. Erin's determined to take on this powerful adversary even though no law firm has dared to do it before. The two begin an incredible and sometimes hilarious fight that will bring a small town to its feet and a huge company to its knees.
Call Number: AV Videos PN1995.9.D7 F683 2001
The story follows the life of low I.Q. Forrest Gump (Tom Hanks) and his meeting with the love of his life Jenny. It contains good decision making, disabilities, sexual decision making. The film chronicles his accidental experiences with some of the most important people and events in America from the late 1950's through the 1970's including a meeting with Elvis Presley, JFK, Lyndon Johnson, Richard Nixon, fighting in Vietnam, etc. The problem is, he doesn't realize the significance of his actions. Forrest comes to embody a generation.