You can set up an individual research consultation with a subject librarian for research help. Here are a few other things that we can do for you:
Library Hours
Mon-Thur 8 a.m. -- Midnight
Friday 8 a.m. -- 6 p.m.
Saturday 10 a.m. -- 6 p.m.
Sunday 10 a.m. -- Midnight
Reference Hours
Mon-Wed 10 a.m. -- 5 p.m.
6 p.m. -- 9 p.m.
Thursday 10 a.m. -- 5 p.m.
Friday 1 p.m. -- 4 p.m
Saturday (Closed)
Sunday (Closed)
Archives Hours
Contact: archives@willamette.edu for an appointment.
Note: The library is open to the general public Monday-Friday from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. and on Saturday from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.
The Encyclopedia of Contemporary Japanese Culture
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
American Countercultures: an Encyclopedia of Nonconformists, Alternative Lifestyles, and Radical Ideas in U. S. History
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America
Youth Cultures in America
The Pacific Islands: An Encyclopedia
The Columbia Encyclopedia of Modern DramaListed below are the letters and titles of the main classes of the Library of Congress (LC) Classification. Click on any class to view an outline of its subclasses in an interactive PDF format. This list is based off of the Library of Congress Classification Outline.
Wikipedia is a great resource for getting general info about something, but because anyone can contribute or change its content it is considered unreliable. College faculty typically do not consider Wikipedia a credible information source.
Instead, use the library's print or electronic encyclopedias, dictionaries, or other reference books to backup the basic information of your research paper. These resources have gone through an editorial process to check for accuracy. To the right and below are some resources that may be of use.
This course will delve into the cultures surrounding tattooing, piercing, scarification, suspension and body modding in the United States and world wide. Participants will investigate the histories, origins, and current expressions of these art forms, as well as their intersection with contemporary performance. Topics to be discussed include cultural appropriation, self-expression and aesthetics, as well as portrayals of the cultures and sub-cultures surrounding artists, clients and advocates for these practices. Finally, relevant media samples, from silver-gelatin prints to television series (Inkmaster, et al), film and social media will be examined as we look at the complicated portrayals of these art forms in current culture. Together we will consider: to whom might these art forms belong? How is meaning made, when the body is the site of art-making? How, and to what extent, must the personal views and practices of the artists/practitioners be considered when offering up one’s body as canvas? And, what are the ethical and ethnographic implications of adapting culturally significant practices into pop culture of the moment?
