Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Peer-review is an evaluation process to review literature before it is published. It provides quality, credibility, and reliability toward the published works, as well as to the authors and the profession.
This 5-minute video discusses the importance of peer-review and its process.
(NCSU video, 5 min.)
PsycINFO is a psychology database. It indexes over 1,300 professional journals in the field of psychology and related disciplines in more than 30 languages. It also includes references to book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Be sure your Google Scholar preferences include Willamette University as your library (under library links) to access Willamette-licensed content. For more customization & info visit our Google Scholar page.
All Databases at Willamette
Databases are how articles are indexed; indexes primarily tell you that articles exist opposed to providing the full-text of articles. These databases cover literature that is related to this subject area. The full list of WU database is available by alphabetic list or subject. There are also guides available to walk you through how to find materials.
Other databases for this Course
Academic Search Premier
is a full-text interdisciplinary database that can filter to peer-reviewed and full-text literature. This is great resource for starting your research. Includes broad based coverage of the Social Sciences in general, as well as Psychology.
America History & Life
Provides access to scholarly literature on the history and culture only of North America from prehistoric times to the present. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations.
Business Source Premier
Provides full text for more than 3,300 academic journals & trade magazines in the fields of business, economics, industries, consumer products & consumer services.
Provides access to international scholarly literature on the history of the world, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present.
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes material on the modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to over 3,000 journals, as well as to book chapters, and proceedings.
Provides citations to articles in over 3,000 journals covering sociology, social work and other social sciences.
Coverage 600+ philosophy journals, and it includes the Find it at WU button to easily obtain article through interlibrary loan.
Religion & Philosophy Collection
Covers 300+ magazines and journals about religion and philosophy. Its focus includes the history of philosophy, epistemology, morality and all aspects of ethics.
OTHER Full Text Scholarly Databases
Provides access to the complete backfiles of more than 1,600 academic journals in digital format, some of which date from the 1800s. Over 46 million pages are now available.
Provides online access to the full text of over 400 journals in the disciplines of literary studies, classics, history, philosophy, political science, and the history of science and medicine.
How To Find Articles
Most of our databases offer full text articles, but when you run across something that isn't available in full text you need to check if we have access to it elsewhere. Here's how...
- Within the database, click the "Find It!" button. We might have e-access through a different database.
- If we don't have it, you should have an option to order it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Fill out the form and you will usually get it in a 2-3 days.
If you're off-campus, you will be prompted for your Willamette username & password.
Articles from Class
Shared Experiences Are Amplified (2014)
Enhancing the Television-Viewing Experience through Commercial Interruptions (2009)
When Choice is Demotivating: Can One Desire Too Much of a Good Thing? (2000)
The paradox of happiness: Why are we not doing what we know makes us happy? (2017)
The Cognitive Beneﬁts of Interacting With Nature (2008)