What might it mean to imagine Indigenous futures? In this learning community, we’ll travel on a journey across space timelines and explore leading edge speculative fiction and art by Indigenous artists, creative use of gaming and video technologies for Indigenous storytelling and community building, and Indigenous design as a strategy to address climate change. Across the world, Indigenous peoples are leading movements for environmental protection, climate change, and adaptive design. In this highly experiential and place-based course, we will read science fiction by Native writers, engage with multi-media and film, and visit local tribal communities who are imaginatively envisioning a more just future for all people and beings through housing, environmental, and health initiatives.
Course taught by: Rebecca Dobkins Colloquium Associate: Sonia Zand
Wikipedia is a great resource for getting general info about something, but because anyone can contribute or change its content it is considered unreliable. College faculty typically do not consider Wikipedia a credible information source.
Instead, use the library's print or electronic encyclopedias, dictionaries, or other reference books to backup the basic information of your research paper. These resources have gone through an editorial process to check for accuracy. To the right and below are some resources that may be of use.
A to Z World Lifecycles
Dictionary of Native American Mythology
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
Ethnic groups worldwide: a ready reference handbook
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
Handbook of Indigenous Religion(s)
Indigenous Peoples: an Encyclopedia of Culture, History, and Threats to Survival by 
Native peoples of the world: an encyclopedia of groups, cultures, and contemporary issues
The Routledge International Companion to Multicultural Education
The SAGE Handbook of Cultural AnthropologyBelow are key reference books that provide a general overview of a topic or help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data. These sources often include references and lists of further readings.
Encyclopedia of the American Indian Movement
People of Color in the United States: contemporary issues in education, work, communities, health, and immigration.
Indigenous Peoples and Environmental IssuesNative peoples of the world: an encyclopedia of groups, cultures, and contemporary issues
Social Issues in Living Color: challenges and solutions from the perspective of ethnic minority psychology
Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History
Encyclopedia of Native American music of North America
Ethnic American Literature
