Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Video Online
Provides videos with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, and more. Includes more than 70,000 video titles spanning a range of subject areas such as anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
C-SPAN Video Library
The C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, now totaling over 160,000 hours, is contained in the C-SPAN Archives and immediately accessible through the database and electronic archival systems developed and maintained by the C-SPAN Archives. Coverage: 1987 - present
A Frontline program investigating the rising threat of far-right violence in America
Play in music in ten scenes
Music, lyrics, and book by Marc Blitzstein
March 11 - 14, 2021
Department of Music, Dramatic Vocal Arts
Katherine Skovira, Music Director
The Cradle Will Rock hits us with an intense urgency! Fusing parodies of Bach and Beethoven with jazz and pop music forms, this savage powerhouse musical confronts the all-American issues of unrestrained capitalism, racism, corruption, and bigotry. With its composer, Marc Blitzstein, at the piano, the 1937 premiere was itself an act of defiance, against censorship, an answer to Bertolt Brecht’s blazing suggestion: “Why don’t you write a piece about all kinds of prostitution – the press, the church, the courts, the arts, the whole system?”
A Night At The Garden
A Night At The Garden
In 1939, 20,000 Americans rallied in New York’s Madison Square Garden to celebrate the rise of Nazism – an event largely forgotten from American history. A Night At the Garden uses striking archival fragments recorded that night to transport modern audiences into this gathering and shine a light on the disturbing fallibility of seemingly decent people. (Online Video)
It Can't Happen Here
Photos from the WPA Fed Theatre Project in NY 1935-36 Experimental Thtr. Unit production of "It Can't Happen Here"
IT CAN'T HAPPEN HERE and the Federal Theater Project
Youtube slideshow about the Federal Theater Project (1934-1937) and the 21 simultaneous productions coast to coast of IT CAN'T HAPPEN HERE by Sinclair Lewis and John C. Moffitt.
Call Number: MOH AV Video (DVD) E902 .L42 2004
This documentary looks at the claim made by some activists that the United States has moved towards fascism in the wake of 9/11.
Cradle Will Rock
Call Number: Hatfield Libary AV Video (DVD) PN1995.9.D7 C646 2000
A kaleidoscopic look at the extraordinary events of 1930s America, from high society to life on the streets in Depression-era New York City.