Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Browsing articles from commonly requested business MAGAZINES
BUSINESS WEEK magazine (also known as BLOOMBERG BUSINESSWEEK)
Weekly magazine with broad spectrum coverage of BUSINESS news, primarily focusing on United States. Our online access to this weekly publication EXCLUDES coverage of Bloomberg's wire services, legal or accounting databases, analytical reports, web logs or items that were produced solely as digital publications or originated from Bloomberg's cable / satellite television programming.
ECONOMIST magazine (published weekly)
Broad spectrum coverage of ECONOMICS, BUSINESS and FOREIGN AFFAIRS with a more global focus than most other popular business magazines. Unlike most business magazines, THE ECONOMIST is known for using sarcasm & rhetoric in their article tiles or when captioning photos or artwork. PLEASE NOTE that you MUST go through the "Find It @ Willamette" button in order to retrieve full text articles from this publication. Our online access for this weekly publication EXCLUDES graphics, photo, charts as well as excluding country reports or industry analyses produced by "The Economist Intelligence Unit" or "The Economist Intelligence Reports".
FORBES magazine (frequency has changed over the years -- now published every other month since 2020)
Broad spectrum coverage of BUSINESS, primarily focusing on United States. Our online access to this publication has INCONSISTENT coverage of the "Forbes 500 Lists".
FORTUNE magazine (frequency has changed over the years -- now published every other month since 2021)
Broad spectrum magazine coverage of BUSINESS, primarily focusing on United States. Fortune tends to have fewer articles, but more in depth coverage than the other magazines suggested on this web page. Our online access to this publication has INCONSISTENT coverage of the "Fortune 500 Lists".
HARVARD BUSINESS REVIEW (scholarly journal, published every other month since 1948)
HBR has been publishing scholarly articles focusing primarily on MANAGERIAL concerns and business strategies since 1922. Our online access to this scholarly publication EXCLUDES "Harvard Business School - Case Studies".
Browsing articles from commonly requested business NEWSPAPERS
These newspapers come to the Hatfield Library through 3rd-party database vendors which distribute a reduced subset of articles that were found in the printed editions of each respective newspaper.
One of the major reasons for including these newspaper with nationwide audiences is that they have track records of publishing major opinion essays (often nicknamed "Op-Ed articles) and the full texts of significant speeches that have been focal points of shifts in public sentiment, industry & corporate policies, and triggering significant gatherings of public protest. Although the journalists working for these national newspapers are supposedly only the reporters of news, these publications typically receive a lot of public attention as "movers & shakers" based on their decisions of which items deserve a national audience, and which items can sit quietly in the limelight of smaller sized regional news outlets.
These access links will never allow you to see such features as crossword puzzles, daily statistical summaries (trading activity for stocks / commodities / debt instruments / foreign exchange rates) nor periodic compilations such as economic indexes / dividend payments / trading volumes / mutual funds / thumbnail look at earnings / lists of firms entering bankruptcy / legal notices. All of those features are available if you can come inside the Hatfield Library on Salem campus to handle & view the physical copies of those newspapers which the library receives in print. Many of those routine data tables are also available in online formats, but only if you purchase a personal online subscription directly with that particular newspaper.
- THE NEW YORK TIMES is not just a local daily newspaper focusing on New York City, as it has over a century long reputation for deep coverage of global news events, and a rather thick daily section dedicated solely to general business, company specific and industry news. NYT provides primary geographic coverage to firms located within the metropolitan NYC area, with secondary coverage for the entire United States, and to lesser extent, major companies from around the globe.
- WALL STREET JOURNAL is published 6 days each week covering a lot more news than what happens just along the 8 blocks of sidewalk on "Wall Street" located in New York City. For over a century, the major focus of WSJ has been all aspects of publicly traded businesses, company specific news and industries across the United States. Secondary coverage includes private firms in the metropolitan NYC area, global news about major international corporations, the global economy and foreign affairs. WSJ has gradually expanded its coverage of entrepreneurs and small sized businesses that are privately owned.
- THE WASHINGTON POST is more than just a local daily newspaper focusing on the District of Columbia and the nearby suburbs across Maryland & Virginia. WaPo employs an extensive array of reporters who provide detailed coverage of all branches of the Federal government of the United States, even if an agency is located outside of the nation's capitol beltway. This in depth coverage includes analysis of lawsuits moving through federal courts, legislative bills that are brewing in Congress, proposed changes to administrative codes, major lobbying efforts, and shifting public policy that is stirring around the White House or on Capitol Hill.
Gary Klein (Reference Librarian)
Subjects: Atkinson (AGSM)
, Civic Communication & Media
, Politics, Policy, Law and Ethics
, Rhetoric & Media Studies