This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
 

Library Workshops: Main

About

Want a library workshop?

Our workshops provide training to the WU community in order to meet the technology needs of students, staff, and faculty, and increase collaboration with faculty in integrating information technology skills into the curriculum.

Our hope is that this program will:

1. promote information fluency among students, faculty, and staff;
2. integrate technology instruction for WU students, faculty, and staff more fully into the curriculum and administrative programs;
3. offer tailored, "just in time" technology training; and
4. increase flexibility in responding to campus needs for technology training.

Workshops

Opening Days Workshop

How do I find books or DVDs or journals at the library? How do I search databases and which databases should I use anyway? What can the library do to help me with my research? Is my laptop properly configured for printing and the home drive? Learn how to make the most out of the library’s resources and services at this workshop.

Google Scholar Workshop

Compare the strengths and weaknesses of Google, Google Scholar, and other search tools accessible on the open web and the library’s web site.

Laptop Workshop

Is your laptop configured for WU Print, Zotero and are you saving your documents to your netfiles drive? This workshop will help you get your computer in proper shape for a successful school year.

Omeka Workshop

Collections management software Omeka is becoming an increasingly important tool for a wide variety of institutions and groups interested in presenting collections online and in the creation of digital exhibitions. This workshop will offer a hands-on introduction to using Omeka and discuss several relevant examples to explore.

Zotero Workshop

Need help keeping your references organized? Looking for an easier way to create bibliographies and footnotes? Try Zotero, a web-based citation management program. With Zotero, users can create a personal database of resources and keep them easily organized. Zotero is available to all Willamette University faculty, staff, and students.

ARTstor Workshop

Did you know that you have access to over 1 million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences? They're all in a database called ARTstor. Come to this workshop to learn how to search, save, and view these images so that you can use them in your papers, teaching, or just for fun.

Subject Guide

Bill Kelm's picture
Bill Kelm
Contact:
Mark O. Hatfield Library
Willamette University
900 State Street
Salem, OR 97301
503-375-5332
Website / Blog Page