Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests In Print
Potential Areas of Interest for this Database: Education, Management, Psychology, Sociology.
Target audience: Educators, Career counselors, Guidance counselors, Social workers, Psychologists, Psychiatrists and Social science researchers to determine what is the proper scale or testing instrument to administer, when trying to assess a person's abilities, skills or developmental position.
Examples of Topics covered by this Database: Human development, Skill levels, Verbal skills, Reading levels, Intelligence, Learning modalities, Motor skills, Sensory skills, Emotions, Attitudes and Leadership.
Dates of Coverage: 1938 to the present.
About this Trial Use Database: This database combines together two different multi-volume print resources that are produced & published by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska:
- Mental Measurements Yearbook began in 1938 when Oscar K. Buros created the MMY series to help people make informed selections about instruments which are designed to measure human psychological & developmental abilities. You can think of MMY as the "Consumer Reports" for evaluating testing instruments that focus on human development, skill levels, intelligence, learning modalities, as well as emotions, attitudes or behaviors. MMY also assesses the extent to which a testing instrument accurately measures what it claims to measure, as well as examing its validity & reliability.
- Tests In Print was started in 1961 by Buros as a comprehensive bibliography containing commercially available testing instruments printed in English. TIP originated as a separate printed series, offering brief descriptiions about tests, principally focusing on: pricing, availabilty, formats, completion times, intended testing population and describing what dimensions each test is measuring.
Integrating with RefWorks:
YES, this database readily allows you to export citations directly into RefWorks to create & manage personalized bibliographies and citation formats.