This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
 

Languages & Linguistics: Home

Languages and Linguistics

Library-supported Databases

Britannica Online
Includes Encyclopedia Britannica, Britannica Book of the Year, Nations of the World, and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary. Useful for background or explanatory information.
MLA Bibliography
The most comprehensive index for material on the modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore, providing access to journal articles, books, conference proceedings and dissertations.

General

ALTEC: Anderson Language Technology Center
ALTEC, located at the University of Colorado-Boulder, supports the study of foreign languages and cultures. Their site provides links to foreign language resources on the Internet and elsewhere.
CELIA: Computer Enhanced Language Instruction Archive
"CELIA is an archive or storage space (like a library) of software for Computer Assisted Language Learning (CALL). The software is either shareware or freeware." This link is via a gopher-server.
The Human-Languages Page
A comprehensive catalog of language-related Internet resources, including links to online language lessons, translating dictionaries, native literature, translation services, software, and language schools. Maintained by Tyler Chambers.
Northwest Language Consortium
"The Northwest Language Consortium is composed of Lewis & Clark College, University of Puget Sound, Whitman College and Willamette University. The purpose is to increase the effectiveness of teaching and learning in foreign languages through collaborative development with the use of technology." Contains numerous links to language sites.
Voice of the Shuttle
This "Web Page for Humanities Research" contains an amazingly comprehensive collection of links. Created by Alan Liu, professor in the English Dept. at the University of California, Santa Barbara.
Yamada Language Center non-English Font Archive
"The Yamada Language Center maintains an archive of fonts. This page is designed to assist users who wish to display or type non-English fonts on their computers." The Yamada Language Center is located at the University of Oregon.

French

Afrique Francophone
A listing of numerous sites that cover topics related to Francophone Africa. Maintained by the Department of Languages and Literatures, Lehman College, City University of New York.
ARTFL Project
ARTFL [American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language] is a cooperative project established in 1981 by the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique and the University of Chicago. It provides access to nearly 2000 French texts, ranging from classic works of literature to non-fiction prose and technical writing.
The Cultural Explorer
Sponsored by the Cultural Service of the French Embassy in Ottawa, this site contains a mélange of French resources, ranging from news and foreign affairs to film and cuisine.
French Texts at Mr. Jefferson's University
A variety of electronic texts in French and links to French-related Internet resources from the Electronic Text Center at the University of Virginia. Note: access to some items is restricted.

German

German Electronic Texts Resources
A variety of electronic texts in German and links to German-related Internet resources from the Electronic Text Center at the University of Virginia. Note: access to some items is restricted.
German Studies Trails on the Internet
Maintained by Andreas Lixl, Professor of German at the University of North Carolina-Greensboro, this site is a rich source of interdisciplinary German resources found on the Internet.
German Studies Web
"The German Studies Web is designed to provide access to scholarly resources in German Studies, including all German-speaking countries. The resources organized here have undergone a selection and evaluation process." Maintained by the Western European Specialists Section, Association of College and Research Libraries.
Goethe-Institut
"Zur Pflege der deutschen Sprache im Ausland und zur Förderung der internationalen kulturellen Zusammenarbeit e. V." English language version also available.

Japanese

Japanese Resources on the Web
This annotated list is maintained by ALTEC (see above).
Japanese Text Initiative
"[A] collaborative effort to make searchable texts of classical Japanese literature available on the World Wide Web." Maintained by the University of Virginia Library Electronic Text Center and the University of Pittsburgh East Asian Library.

Russian

REESWeb: Russian and East European Studies Internet Resources
"The REESWeb is a comprehensive index of electronic resources on the Balkans, the Baltic states, the Caucusus, Central Asia, Central Europe, the CIS, Eastern Europe, the NIS, the Russian Federation, and the former Soviet Union. The REESWeb is sponsored by the Center for Russian and East European Studies of the University of Pittsburgh."

Spanish

dónde?: Directorio online de España
"'dónde?' es una base de datos sobre recursos españoles (o relacionados con España) accesibles en Internet. Se trata de un servicio diseñado para experimentar con algunas tecnologías disponibles e la Internet. La información la proporcionan los usuarios y, especialmente, los administradores de servidores, autores de páginas HTML, etc."
HLAS Online: Handbook of Latin American Studies
"The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities."
Spanish Resources on the Web
This site, maintained by ALTEC (see above), covers Spain, Latin America and Mexico.

Yiddish

Shtetl: Yiddish Language and Culture
Links to Yiddish language, educational, historical and cultural sites. Maintained by Iosif Vaisman at the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill.

Linguistics

The Applied Linguistics WWW Virtual Library
A comprehensive listing of linguistics resources found on the Internet. Maintained by Larry Selinker, Department of Applied Linguistics, Birbeck College, University of London.
Linguistics Materials on the Web
Another comprehensive listing of linguistic resources. Maintained at the Department of Linguistics, University of Rochester, New York.
The LINGUIST List
"[A]n electronic network maintained at Texas A & M and Eastern Michigan Universities. LINGUIST serves as a research and discussion facility for the linguistic academic community through an electronic mailing list and its World Wide Web sites."
University of Michigan Linguistics Archive
"[A] collection of public domain, freeware, shareware, and other files that may be useful to linguists." This link is via a gopher-server.
Voice of the Shuttle
This "Web Page for Humanities Research" contains an amazingly comprehensive collection of links. Created by Alan Liu, professor in the English Dept. at the University of California, Santa Barbara.

Style Guides and Resource Evaluation

Evaluating Internet Resources
A list of criteria to use for evaluating sites on the World Wide Web. Developed and adapted by Willamette librarians Carol Drost and Linda Maddux.
MLA Style
"These guidelines on MLA documentation style are the only ones available on the Internet that are authorized by the Modern Language Association of America."

 

Other Sites of Interest

Northwest Language Consortium
"The Northwest Language Consortium is composed of Lewis & Clark College, University of Puget Sound, Whitman College and Willamette University. The purpose is to increase the effectiveness of teaching and learning in foreign languages through collaborative development with the use of technology."
travlang
"travlang is committed to providing a variety of useful tools for the traveler and those interested in learning a foreign language." Information and links are found in two categories: "Travel Related Services" (e.g. information on hotels worldwide, currency converters, international road signs, airline reservations), and "Language Related Services" (e.g. information on foreign languages for travelers, translating dictionaries). Founded by Dr. Michael C. Martin.
Willamette University Japanese Studies Program
Willamette University Language Learning Center
The homepage of Willamette University's foreign language lab.
Willamette University Office of Off Campus Studies/International Education
Information about options for off campus/international study at Willamette.
Willamette University Russian Department

Humanities and Fine Arts Librarian