This is the "Home" page of the "Encyclopedias" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Encyclopedias  

Last Updated: Jun 28, 2012 URL: http://libguides.willamette.edu/how-to-find-encyclopedias Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Related Guides

These guides will help you find and locate other types of information.

 

Finding Encyclopedias

General

Britannica Online

The electronic version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica. An excellent starting point for almost any topic of research, the Britannica offers both concise descriptions, and longer, more comprehensive articles on a wide variety of topics.

Encyclopedias

A collection of online encyclopedias from Best of the Web. Includes classic editions of the Encyclopaedia Britannica.

Oxford Reference Online

Provides access to 100 well-known and trusted dictionaries and reference books, plus an encyclopedia, in a single cross-searchable web database. A broad range of subjects are covered, including language, quotations, science, medicine, humanities, the social sciences and business.

Art

The Grove Dictionary of Art Online
A comprehensive online resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide, from prehistory to the present.

Classics

Encyclopedia Mythica
An encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, legends, and more. It contains over 5700 definitions of gods and goddesses, supernatural beings and legendary creatures and monsters from all over the world, including sections on the mythology of ancient Greece and Rome.
Internet Ancient History Sourcebook
A collection of texts and web sites relating to topics in ancient history, including Greek, Roman and the ancient Near East/Egypt.
Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites
Provides an alphabetical listing of archaeological sites of the ancient world, with information on location, history, ruins and materials recovered from excavation.

Law and Economics

Encyclopedia of Law and Economics
A broad-based collection of resources pertaining to economic and legal issues throughout the world. It has an index of searchable bibliographic resources, including abstracts of recent law and economics reviews, and a Web resources section containing working papers, bibliographies, and mailing lists. In addition, the site links to law and economics academic programs.
Encyclopedia of Public International Law
Written by over 650 scholars and practitioners from around the world and edited by a team from the Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law. This online resource includes more than 700 new topics, not covered in the previous print edition, and is updated quarterly.

Literature

Literature Resource Center
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.

Medicine

Medline Plus Medical Encyclopedia (NLM & NIH)
The A.D.A.M. Health Illustrated Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations, and is browsable by the first letter of topic.

Music

Grove Music Online
The online version of the classic New Groves Dictionary of Music and Musicians.

Oregon

Oregon Encyclopedia
A comprehensive and authoritative compendium of information about Oregon's history and culture, created through a partnership between Portland State University, the Oregon Council of Teachers of English, and the Oregon Historical Society.

Philosophy

The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Produced by the University of Tennessee at Martin, provides access through a table of contents, keyword thesaurus or search engine. Also features a timeline of philosophy and an online collection of important philosophy texts.
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A dynamic, collaborative project, developed by Stanford University's Center for the Study of Language and Information. Access available through search option or table of contents.

Science

AccessScience
This is the online version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, which contains detailed articles on a wide range of science topics.

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Ford Schmidt
Contact Info
Mark O. Hatfield Library
900 State Street
Salem, OR 97301
503-375-5407
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip