This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
 

How to Find Dictionaries: Main

Related Guides

These guides will help you find and locate other types of information.

Finding Dictionaries

General

OED Online

Contains both the complete text of the Oxford English Dictionary (OED) twenty-volume Second Edition and three-volume Additions Series and Draft material, representing the latest progress towards a completely revised and updated Third Edition. (WU access only).

Acronyms

Acronym Finder

The WorldWideWeb Acronym Server

Clearinghouses

yourDictionary.com--A Web of Online Dictionaries

French

French Linguistics--Site for the study of the French Language

German

German-English Dictionary

Japanese

Jim Breen's WWWJDIC Japanese-English Dictionary Server

Latin

The Perseus Latin-English, English-Latin Lexicon

From the Perseus Project at Tufts University, a dictionary for translating Latin terms to English, and vice versa. Also links to a Greek lexicon.

UBC SunSITE- An On-line Latin-English/English-Latin Dictionary Client

From the Mathematics Department at the University of British Columbia, an interactive Latin-English--English-Latin dictionary.

Medical

Medterms.com

An encylopedic dictionary of classic and contemporary medical terms containing over 9,000 entries. Written entirely by physicians for both professional and non-professional readers, the dictionary also includes "pertinent scientific items, abbreviations, acronyms, jargon, institutions, projects, symptoms, syndromes, eponyms, and medical history.

Merriam Webster Medical Dictionary (InteliHealth)

Provides recent definitions and pronunciations for medical terminology. Offers quick links to popular topics: diseases and conditions, healthy lifestyles, medical symptoms, tests and procedures, and drug information.

Stedman's Medical Dictionary

Search by keyword or definition, or browse the alphabetical index. Also provides pronunciation guide and synonyms linked to other words.

Rhyming

The Semantic Rhyming Dictionary

Find words that rhyme with, almost rhyme with, or sound exactly the same as a certain target word. Also finds words that approximate or have the same meaning as an intended concept.

Russian

English-Russian Dictionary

Mueller's English-Russian Dictionary On-Line!

Spanish

Dictionary of Spanish

English-Spanish Dictionary (Granada University, Spain)

Symbols

Symbols.com

Contains more than 2,500 Western signs, arranged into 54 groups according to their graphic characteristics. Ranges from Cro-Magnon carvings to hobo signs and subway graffiti. To search for the meaning or history of a sign, you can use either the Graphic Index or the Word Index. You can also browse the symbols according to categories, or by keywords and concepts using the Word Index.

Thesaurus

Wordsmyth: The Educational Dictionary-Thesaurus

An online American English dictionary with an integrated thesaurus, WEDT contains 50,000 headwords and well-defined and hyperlinked synonyms. Provides multiple search strategies, allowing users to perform narrow or broad-based searches for definitions and synonyms.

Art & Architecture Thesaurus Online (AAT)

Contains approximately 125,000 terms and other information about concepts that may be used to describe art, architecture, decorative arts, material culture, and archival materials. Coverage ranges from Antiquity to the present, and is worldwide in scope.

 

 

Subject Librarian

Ford Schmidt
Contact:
Mark O. Hatfield Library
900 State Street
Salem, OR 97301
503-375-5407