This is the "Articles & Databases" page of the "Economics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Last Updated: Mar 10, 2014 URL: http://libguides.willamette.edu/economics Print Guide RSS Updates

Articles & Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How To Find Articles

  1. Use the databases listed on this page to find articles.

  2. If it isn't available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button.  We might have e-access another way or have it in print. 
  3. If we don't have it, order the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

If you're off-campus, you will be prompted for your Willamette username & password.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).



NEW DATABASE: Import Genius

  • Import Genius
    You must establish a personal account with your Willamette University email address to use this database. Offers over 20 ways to retrieve transaction details from the millions of maritime import shipments that arrive in the USA each year, going back to 2006. Allows you to identify what overseas firms are supplying products to American companies.
 

Quick Search of Economics & Business Databases

This executes a joint search of an Economics database and a Business database, with results limited to "peer reviewed/scholarly journals":

Quick Search: 2 databases for Business & Economics


Business Source Premier is a full-text database of academic journals, trade magazines and news magazines focusing on all aspects of business, management, public administration, public policy and some coverage of economics.

Econ-Lit is a full text database of academic journals, conference papers, books and "working papers" focusing on theoretical & practical aspects of economics, as well as international development and allied disciplines from the social sciences.

Economics - journal articles, working papers, current data

Please note that "working papers" are frequently found in Economics publications, but they are not considered to be on par with articles found in peer reviewed journals.  Journal articles have passed through more rigorous editorial reviews than "working papers".

  • EconLit with full text (from Ebsco)
    Provides access to 400 scholarly journals of economics, business economics, social economics, income distributions, and monetary controls from around the world. Covers both theoretical and applied aspects of economics and allied disciplines from the social sciences. Also includes books & book reviews, essays from multi-author books, working papers, and dissertations.
  • National Bureau of Economic Research (working papers)
    Founded in 1920, the NBER is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. The NBER is committed to undertaking and disseminating unbiased economic research among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community.
  • Berkeley Electronic Press (BEPress)
    Publishes over 50 journals in electronic only formats, with principal focus on economics, politics, law, health, and public policy.
 

Quick Search of 2 History Databases

This executes a joint search of 2 database that cover the literature of History, with results limited to "peer reviewed/scholarly journals":

Quick Search: 2 databases covering History


America History & Life is a full-text database of academic journals, popular magazines and social commentary on the history of North America.  It also provides access to books, book reviews, chapters of books, and dissertations.

Historical Abstracts is a companion full text database providing coverage of world history that took place outside of North America.  It provides coverage of academic journals, popular magazines, books, book reviews, chapters of books and dissertations.

Public administration; Public opinion; Public policy

  • PAIS International for Public policy & Public administration
    Indexing & abstracting for public policy, public administration, government relations, governmental effectiveness, nonprofit organizations, political structures and international relations. Provides selective coverage of magazine and journal articles, books, book reviews, conference proceedings, government documents, and statistical directories.
  • Gallup Polls (Gallup, Inc)
    Contains news releases with summaries of results from recent polls that were publicly distributed by Gallup. Hatfield Library has several print resources published by Gallup, going back to 1935 in the Reference Collection starting with the call number HN 90 .P8 G35.

Government agencies, information, laws & regulations

Many of these government resources do not show an author's name as a single person, or group of people.  In those cases, you need to name the government agency or committee that is responsible for producing each document.  There can be several groups associated with a single document.  Sometimes a document cover only shows an agency's abbreivation or acronym, while further inside the report, the complete lengthy name & governmental hierarchy of the agency is revealed.

You need to be very careful in understanding the proper way to cite these underlying reports & documents.

  • GPO Monthly Catalog
    Indexes all the federal government publications distributed through the Federal Depository Library Program. Also provides holdings information for the Hatfield Library and other depository libraries.
  • Military & Government Collection (from Ebsco)
    Full text access to current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Includes a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. Provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 400 journals and periodicals, and indexing & abstracts for more than 500 titles.
  • U.S. Congressional Documents Collection (1789 to present)
    Offers access to the bound and daily versions of Congressional Record, its three predecessor titles, and other important congressional material.
  • U.S. Presidential Library (1897 to present)
    Provides full text access to such titles as Messages and Papers of the Presidents; Public Papers of the Presidents; CFR Title 3 (Presidents); Weekly Compilation of the Presidential Documents, and other documents relating to U.S. presidents.

Find Articles in other Subjects/Disciplines

The Hatfield Library provides access to over 100 databases, on a wide variety of topics, including Agriculture, Culinary arts, Gardening, Hospitality, and Nursing, even though Willamette University does not offer degrees in those subjects.

We have several ways in which you can browse the entire listing of our subscription databases:  by academic disciipline; or alphabetically by each database's brand name.

      

    Reference Librarian

    Profile Image
    Gary Klein
    JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
    Logo - FacebookLogo - LinkedIn
    Contact Info
    Mark O. Hatfield Library
    900 State Street
    Salem, OR 97301
    503-370-6743
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip