This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
 

Database Search Boxes: Home

All Databases at Willamette

Databases are how articles are indexed; indexes primarily tell you that articles exist opposed to providing the full-text of articles.  These databases cover literature that is related to this subject area. The full list of WU database is available by alphabetic list or subject.  There are also guides available to walk you through how to find materials.

Select EBSCO Search Boxes (Health & Human Physiology)

This search box includes the following databases through EBSCO:
Academic Search Premier, AltHealth Watch, PubMed (Medline), and Sport Discus.

ASP, AltHealth, Sport Discus
Limit Your Results
 

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)

Academic Search Premier (ASP) is a full-text interdisciplinary database that can filter to peer-reviewed and full-text literature. This is great resource for starting your research. 

Academic Search Premier
Limit Your Results

Agricola (EBSCO)

Agricola indexes agricultural information from government publications, scholarly journals, books, gray literature and more. It is useful for forestry, wildlife management, and other applications of the biological sciences. 

Agricola
Limit Your Results

Alt HealthWatch (EBSCO)

Alt HealthWatch focuses on the many perpectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.  It offers the full-text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book exerpts.

Alt HealthWatch
Limit Your Results

America: History & Life (EBSCO)

America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.

America History & Life
Limit Your Results

ATLA Religion Database (EBSCO)

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials™ combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals.

ATLA Religion Database
Limit Your Results

Bibliography of Native North Americans (EBSCO)

Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy.

Bib. of Native N. Americans
Limit Your Results

Business Source Premier (EBSCO)

Business Source Premier features more than 2,150 journals. The full text provided dates back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. It is particularly strong in the areas of marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.

Business Source Premier
Limit Your Results

Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)

Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC indexes and abstracts more than 730 journals, and includes full text for over 420 journals.

Comm. and Mass Media
Limit Your Results

Computer Source (EBSCO)

Computer Source contains nearly 300 full-text journals and magazines covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software.

Computer Source
Limit Your Results

EconLit (EBSCO)

EconLit with Full Text contains all of the indexing available in EconLit, plus full text for more than 500 journals, including the American Economic Association journals (American Economic Review, Journal of Economic Literature, and Journal of Economic Perspectives). This database also contains many non-English full-text journals in economics & finance.

EconLit
Limit Your Results

ERIC (EBSCO)

The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC contains more than 1,300,000 records and links to more than 321,000 full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966.

ERIC
Limit Your Results

Fuente Académica (EBSCO)

Fuente Académica is a collection of scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology.

Fuente Academica
Limit Your Results

GeoRef (EBSCO)

GeoRef, produced by the American Geological Institute, is a comprehensive geosciences database containing over 3 million bibliographic records to the geoscience literature of the world. Among the subjects covered in GeoRef are: environmental and engineering geology, hydrology, economic geology, geophysics, petrology, paleontology, marine geology and oceanography, and mineralogy.

The geology of North America is covered from 1669 to the present, and coverage dates back to 1933 for the rest of the world. Over 3,500 journals are reviewed for indexing in the GeoRef database as well as books, maps, government reports, conference papers, and theses and dissertations.

GeoRef
Limit Your Results

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. For customization & more info visit our Google Scholar page.

Google Scholar

   

 

GreenFILE (EBSCO)

GreenFILE focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. It draws on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology.

GreenFILE
Limit Your Results

GREENR (Gale)

GREENR has a very nice topic area dealing specifically with food (e.g. Agrarianism, Biofuel Energy, Community-Supported Agriculture, Food Safety & Security, Green Revolution, Hunting and Gathering, Industrial Agriculture, Organic Agriculture & Foods, Sustainable Agriculture, Urban Farming, and more). It also covers a broad range of topics related to the environmental sciences.

 

 

 

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO)

Health Source provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. In addition, this database includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

Health Source
Limit Your Results

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)

Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,800 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. History and social science researchers have used Historical Abstracts to discover significant and groundbreaking work for more than 50 years.

Historical Abstracts
Limit Your Results

JSTOR

JSTOR is a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The entire collection is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references. You won't find any current editions of journals in JSTOR.

.

.

.

Legal Collection (EBSCO)

Legal Collection contains the full text for more than 300 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. It offers information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment and much more.

Legal Collection
Limit Your Results

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (EBSCO)

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts is a world-class bibliographic database that provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.

Library, Info. Sci. & Tech. Abs.
Limit Your Results

MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO)

MasterFILE Premier covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. It contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with more than 500 reference books, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags.

MasterFile Premier
Limit Your Results

Military & Government Collection (EBSCO)

Military & Government Collection offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. It has a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of these sites. There are nearly 300 full-text journals and periodicals, with indexing and abstracts for more than 400 journals.

Military & Government
Limit Your Results

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)

MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.

MLA International
Limit Your Results

Music Index Online (EBSCO)

The Music Index Online features over 1.4 million records. It is the single most comprehensive subject-author guide to music periodical literature. Published by Information Coordinators, d/b/a Harmonie Park Press, the editor-librarians have surveyed data from more than 850 music periodicals from over 40 countries. The Music Index has been available in print since 1949.

Music Index
Limit Your Results

Newspaper Source (EBSCO)

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc. It also contains selective full text for more than 370 regional (U.S.) newspapers.

Newspaper Source
Limit Your Results

PubMed (MEDLINE)

PubMed, also known as Medline, is THE PLACE TO START when looking for life science info, especially related to medical and health related issues. Some full-text articles are available, but it primarily indexes (tells you what is out there). It also abbreviates medical journal titles according to CSE citation format. 

PubMed Logo

 

Philosopher's Index (EBSCO)

The Philosopher's Index covers scholarly research in the fifteen main fields of philosophy: aesthetics, axiology, philosophy of education, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphilosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion. Over 620 journals from 43 countries are included.

Philosopher's Index
Limit Your Results

Professional Development Collection (EBSCO)

Professional Development Collection is for professional educators, librarians and education researchers. It offers information on everything from children's health and development to cutting-edge pedagogical theory and practice. It also includes full text for Chronicle of Higher Education, Educational Leadership, Journal of Education, Journal of Higher Education, Theory Into Practice, and nearly 520 high quality education journals, plus more than 200 educational reports.

Professional Development
Limit Your Results

PsychINFO (EBSCO)

PsycInfo is a psychology database. It indexes over 1,300 professional journals in the field of psychology and related disciplines in more than 30 languages. It also includes references to book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports.

PsycINFO
Limit Your Results

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.It also links to more than 380 full-text journals.

Psych. & Behav. Sci. Collection
Limit Your Results

Regional Business News (EBSCO)

Regional Business News provides full text for more than 80 regional US and Canadian business publications (including titles from Crain Communications).

Regional Business News
Limit Your Results

Religion and Philosophy Collection (EBSCO)

Religion & Philosophy Collection covers topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. It has nearly 300 full-text journals and unparalleled coverage of the subject areas listed above.

Religion and Philosophy
Limit Your Results

Science Direct

Science Direct is a full-text e-journal collection for the sciences, technology and medicine fields. It primarily coveres peer-reviewed journals.

ScienceDirect® - Quick Search

Search for [ help ]

SPORTDiscus (EBSCO)

SPORTDiscus is the most comprehensive database covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health & therapy, public health and more.

This database covers over 1,557,000 records with journal and book coverage going back to 1800; over 22,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages.

Sport Discus
Limit Your Results

Joint search of EconLit + Business Source Premier databases

EconLit + Business
Limit Your Results

Subject Guide