Listed on this page are key reference books that provide a general overview of a topic or help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data. These sources often include references and lists of further readings.
The Routledge encyclopedia of social and cultural anthropology
Theory in social and cultural anthropology: an encyclopedia
The Continuum encyclopedia of native art: worldview, symbolism, and culture in Africa, Oceania, and North America
Indigenous peoples and environmental issues: an encyclopedia
Shamanism: an encyclopedia of world beliefs, practices, and culture
The Greenwood encyclopedia of world folklore and folklife
Routledge international encyclopedia of queer culture
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide by 
The Europa world year bookThis resources list the names of the main newspapers of each country. 3 volumes
The Garland encyclopedia of world music
Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy
Vietnam: a visual encyclopedia
Encyclopedia of China: the essential reference to China, its history and culture
Berkshire encyclopedia of China: modern and historic views of the world's newest and oldest global power
Historical dictionary of the Democratic People's Republic of Korea
Dictionary of the modern politics of Japan
The anime encyclopedia: a guide to Japanese animation since 1917
Ethnic groups worldwide: a ready reference handbook
Native peoples of the world: an encyclopedia of groups, cultures, and contemporary issues
The Encyclopedia of the peoples of the world
World directory of minorities
